Absa Premiership

Katsande excluded from Warriors AFCON squad

2017-05-26 14:36
Willard Katsande (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Zimbabwe coach Norman Mapeza has not called up Kaizer Chiefs midfielder and former Warriors skipper Willard Katsande for the 2019 AFCON qualifier against Liberia.

Katsande has initially appeared to call time on his international career after the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals earlier this year.

However, he subsequently changed his mind, telling the Herald in February: "I have resolved that I will try my best to help my country to qualify for the 2019 (AFCON) tournament and those qualifiers will be my last piece of action before I retire."

But when naming his squad on Thursday, interim Warriors coach Mapeza left out Katsande, as well as other national team stalwarts such as Nyasha Mushekwi, Matthew Rusike and vice-captain Cuthbert Malajila.

According to newly appointed Zimbabwe team manager Wellington Mupandare, the squad may still be expanded to include some European-based players, including Burnely's Tendai Darikwa.

Although the squad has a strong local flavour, no players from Dynamos were selected.

The match against Liberia takes place on June 11 at the National Sports Stadium.

Zimbabwe squad:


1. Edmore Sibanda (Caps United)

2. Ariel Sibanda (Highlanders)

3. Petros Mhari (FC Platinum)


1. Partson Jaure (Ngezi Platinum Stars)

2. Dennis Dauda (Caps United)

3. Qadr Amin (Ngezi Platinum Stars)

4. Onismo Bhasera (Supersport United - SA)

5. Teenage Hadebe (Chicken Inn)

6. Jameson Mukombwe (Black Rhinos)

7. Eric Chipeta (Ajax Cape Town - SA)

8. Sydney Linyama (Black Rhinos)


1. Thabani Kamusoko (Young Africans - Tanzania)

2. Devon Chafa (Caps United)

3. Simon Shoko (FC Platinum)

4. Kudakwashe Mahachi (Golden Arrows - SA)

5. Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)

6. Marvellous Nakamba (Vitesse Arnhem - Netherlands)

7. Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows)

8. Liberty Chakoroma (Ngezi Platinum Stars)

9. Ovidy Karuru (Amazulu - SA)

10. Ronald Chitiyo (Caps United)


1. Tendai Ndoro (Orlando Pirates)

2. Evans Rusike (Maritzburg United - SA)

3. Knowledge Musona (KV Oostende - Belgium)

4. Prince Dube (Highlanders)

Read more on:    kaizer chiefs  |  psl  |  willard katsande  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Wednesday, 25 April 2018
Maritzburg United v Mamelodi Sundowns, Harry Gwala Stadium 19:30
SuperSport United v Free State Stars, Lucas Moripe Stadium 19:30
Polokwane City v Cape Town City FC, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Orlando Pirates v Wits, Orlando Stadium 19:30
Platinum Stars v AmaZulu FC, Royal Bafokeng Stadium 19:30
Saturday, 28 April 2018
Wits v AmaZulu FC, Bidvest Stadium 15:00
Cape Town City FC v Orlando Pirates, Cape Town Stadium 15:00
Kaizer Chiefs v Maritzburg United, FNB Stadium 15:00
Free State Stars v Polokwane City, Goble Park 15:00
Mamelodi Sundowns v Ajax Cape Town, Lucas Moripe Stadium 15:00
Baroka FC v Bloemfontein Celtic, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
Golden Arrows v Platinum Stars, Princess Magogo Stadium 15:00
Chippa United v SuperSport United, Sisa Dukashe Stadium 15:00
Saturday, 12 May 2018
Ajax Cape Town v Kaizer Chiefs, Cape Town Stadium 15:00
Bloemfontein Celtic v Mamelodi Sundowns, Dr Molemela Stadium 15:00
Maritzburg United v Golden Arrows, Harry Gwala Stadium 15:00
AmaZulu FC v Cape Town City FC, King Zwelithini Stadium 15:00
SuperSport United v Baroka FC, Lucas Moripe Stadium 15:00
Polokwane City v Chippa United, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
Orlando Pirates v Free State Stars, Orlando Stadium 15:00
Platinum Stars v Wits, Royal Bafokeng Stadium 15:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.