Absa Premiership

Jordaan congratulates PSL Award winners

2018-05-31 08:27
Danny Jordaan and Percy Tau (SAFA Supplied)

Cape Town - The President of the South African Football Association (SAFA) Danny Jordaan has congratulated all the winners at the 2017/18 Premier Soccer League (PSL) Awards held in Johannesburg on Tuesday.

Bafana Bafana and Mamelodi Sundowns stalwart Percy Tau walked away with coveted Footballer of the Season Award, as well as the Player’s Player of the Season crown.

Siyanda Xulu, Siphesihle Mkhize and Lebohang Maboe also took to the stage on the evening after given off from the Bafana Bafana camp to attend the awards, who are set to compete in the COSAFA Cup.

Xulu was named the Absa Premiership Defender of the Season, Mkhize walked away with the Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season and the Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season awards, while Maboe took both the Nedbank Cup Most Improved Player of the Tournament and Player of the Tournament accolades.

“Congratulations to all the winners and to those nominated but lost, I would like to say being nominated is great recognition already and you must walk tall,” said Jordaan as quoted by the official SAFA website.

“I am excited at those who left the COSAFA camp to come and attend the ceremony. I hope their success will lift the mood in the team even higher and propel them to do well against their opponent on Sunday.

“To top it all, these are young players, which means the future for Bafana Bafana is very bright. We are also confident that their performance in the domestic league will rub off in the national team during qualification for the 2019 AFCON tournament.”

The Referee of the Season award went to Victor Gomes, while Zakhele Siwela, the only South African match official who will represent the country at the upcoming 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, was named Assistant Referee of the Season.

2017/18 PSL Award winners:

Footballer of the Season  Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)  

Absa Premiership Player's Player of the Season: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)  

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season - Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)  

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs) 

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United)  

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)  

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season : Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)  

Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season: Siphelele Magubane - Polokwane City vs Golden Arrows 

Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer of the Season (11 goals) - Rodney Ramagalela (Polokwane City) and Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) 

MTN8 Last Man Standing - Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United) 

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament - Amr Gamal (Bidvest Wits) 

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Season - Lebohang Maboe (Maritzburg United 

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament Lebohang Maboe  - (Maritzburg United) 

National First Division Top Goalscorer (15 goals) - Mwape Musonda (Black Leopards) and Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park) 

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Most Precious Find: Siboniso Conco (Golden Arrows) 

MultiChoice Diski Shield Player of the Tournament: Itumeleng Shopane (Kaizer Chiefs)

Read more on:    safa  |  psl awards  |  danny jordaan  |  percy tau  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 26 November 2019
Mamelodi Sundowns v AmaZulu, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Highlands Park v Wits, Makhulong Stadium 19:30
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 27 November 2019
Stellenbosch v Kaizer Chiefs, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
Bloemfontein Celtic v Cape Town City, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Maritzburg United v SuperSport United, Harry Gwala Stadium 19:30
Chippa United v Black Leopards, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
Baroka FC v Golden Arrows, Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Saturday, 30 November 2019
Polokwane City v Bloemfontein Celtic, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Cape Town City v Highlands Park, Cape Town Stadium 18:00
Black Leopards v Golden Arrows, Thohoyandou Stadium 18:00
SuperSport United v Stellenbosch, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.