Absa Premiership

How PSL prize money compares to EPL riches

2019-05-13 12:42
Pitso Mosimane
Pitso Mosimane (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Sport24 can reveal the prize money awarded to Absa Premiership winners Mamelodi Sundowns and the 15 other PSL sides compared to the vast riches of the English Premier League.

A total of R29.5 million will be shared between all 16 Absa Premiership sides at the conclusion of the 2018/19 campaign with a surprising difference at what's at stake by finishing as winners and runners-up.

Equally shocking is that Cape Town City will earn as much as Sundowns after the Cape side's additional R8 million for lifting the MTN8 trophy is added, with Baroka FC pocketing an additional R4 million after winning the Telkom Knockout.

Kaizer Chiefs and TS Galaxy are in the final of the Nedbank Cup to be contested on Saturday, May 18 with the winner set to bank R7 million.

The numbers do not compare favourably to the Premier League - which is the richest league in the world - which also shares the pot more equally between the 20 sides.

Absa Premiership prize money 2018/19:

1. Mamelodi Sundowns - R10 million

2. Orlando Pirates - R5 million

3. Bidvest Wits - R3 million

4. Cape Town City - R2 million

5. Polokwane City - R1.5 million

6. SuperSport United - R1.3 million

7. Highlands Park - R1.1 million

8. Bloemfontein Celtic - R1 million

9. Kaizer Chiefs - R750 000

10. Golden Arrows - R700 000

11. AmaZulu - R650 000

12. Chippa - R600 000

13. Black Leopards - R550 000

14. Baroka FC - R500 000

15. Maritzburg United - R450 000

16 Free State Stars - R400 000

English Premiership prize money 2018/19:

1. Manchester City - £38. 4 million (R713 million)

2. Liverpool - £36.5 million (R678 million)

3. Chelsea - £34.6 million (R643 million)

4. Tottenham - £32.6 million (R606 million)

5. Arsenal - £30.7 million (R570 million)

6. Manchester United - £28.8 million (R535 million)

7. Wolves - £26.9 million (R500 million)

8. Everton - £25 million (R464 million)

9. Leicester City - £23.1 million (R429 million)

10. West Ham United - £21.1 million (R392 million)

11. Watford - £19.2 million (R356 million)

12. Crystal Palace - £17.3 million (R321 million)

13. Newcastle United - £15.4 million (R286 million)

14. Bournemouth - £13.4 million (R249 million)

15. Burnley - £11.5 million (R213 million)

16. Southampton - £9.6 million (R178 million)

17. Brighton - £7.7 million (R143 million)

18. Cardiff City £5.8 million (R107 million)

19. Fulham - £3.8 million (R70.6 million)

20. Huddersfield Town £1.9 million (R35.3 million)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

After slow starts to their respective 2018/19 Absa Premiership campaigns, who will finish the season ranked higher?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.