Absa Premiership

CT City wins historic Absa Prem Q-Innovation prize

2019-04-02 14:02
Benni McCarthy
Benni McCarthy (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cape Town City have backed their Absa Premiership championship aspirations with yet another achievement after they were announced as the Absa Premiership Q-Innovation Quarter Three winners.

This is Cape Town City’s first Absa Premiership Quarter prize – another historic achievement for 'The Citizens'. In Quarter Two, Cape Town City were flirting with victory only to fall away on the last hurdle to Mamelodi Sundowns.

However, they have since made up for that disappointment. Cape Town City won the Quarter with 16 points from eight fixtures; managing five victories, one loss and two draws.

Cape Town City will receive R1.5 million in prize money. They were closely followed by another side that has turned the corner in the league, SuperSport United who finished with 15 points from the same number of games (8).

Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates finished third and fourth respectively. The former managed 14 points while the latter was on 13 points.

The PSL congratulates Cape Town City for this achievement.

Q-innovation Fact Sheets:

- Each side that wins a Quarter gets R1, 5 million in prize money.
- Quarter One (8 Fixtures), Quarter Two (7 Fixtures), Quarter Three (8 Fixtures), Quarter Four (7 Fixtures).

2018/19 Season Fact Sheets:

- Bidvest Wits won Quarter One with 16 points from eight matches.
- Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Two with 17 points from seven matches.
- Cape Town City won Quarter Three with 16 points from eight matches.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Tuesday, 23 April 2019
Mamelodi Sundowns v Chippa United, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 15:00
Cape Town City v Highlands Park, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
Kaizer Chiefs v Golden Arrows, FNB Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 24 April 2019
Free State Stars v Baroka FC, Goble Park 18:00
Wits v Black Leopards, Bidvest Stadium 19:30
Maritzburg United v Orlando Pirates, Harry Gwala Stadium 19:30
AmaZulu v SuperSport United, King Zwelithini Stadium 19:30
Polokwane City v Bloemfontein Celtic, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Friday, 26 April 2019
Chippa United v Cape Town City, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

After slow starts to their respective 2018/19 Absa Premiership campaigns, who will finish the season ranked higher?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.