Absa Premiership

CT All Stars ready to stand toe-to-toe with Wits

2017-03-15 08:38
Gavin Hunt (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cape Town All Stars will look to cause a major upset in the Nedbank Cup when they host Bidvest Wits at Athlone Stadium.

All Stars have had an average season in the National First Division, though their recent form is impressive: they have lost just one of their last nine league and cup matches (and that defeat was against runaway NFD leaders Thanda Royal Zulu) and have kept six successive clean sheets.

Igugu Lekapa overcome Mthatha Bucks on penalties back in December 2016 to earn their spot in the last 32 of the Nedbank Cup.

It sees them return to the competition proper for the first time since 2013 when they lost a 5-4 thriller away to Black Leopards in the last 32.

Their opponents are Bidvest Wits, currently one of the country’s foremost teams.The Clever Boys are competing on three fronts at the moment: Absa Premiership (where they are amongst the title contenders), CAF Champions League (where they are currently halfway through a first round tie against Egyptian giants Al Ahly) and here in the Nedbank Cup.

The Clever Boys have won the Nedbank Cup twice (1978 and 2010) and were finalists as recently as 2014 when they were beaten 3-1 by Orlando Pirates.

Last season they were knocked out in the quarterfinals, losing on penalties to Free State Stars after a goalless draw.

Coach Gavin Hunt is a two-time champion in the competition, leading Moroka Swallows to the Absa Cup (as it was known) in 2004 and SuperSport United to the Nedbank Cup in 2012.

The match is scheduled for Wednesday, March 15.

Kick-off at 19:30.

Read more on:    bidvest wits  |  nedbank cup  |  psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Sunday, 23 September 2018
Bloemfontein Celtic v Maritzburg United, Dr Molemela Stadium 15:00
SuperSport United v Black Leopards, Lucas Moripe Stadium 15:00
Wednesday, 26 September 2018
Baroka FC v Free State Stars, Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Tuesday, 02 October 2018
Cape Town City v Wits, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
AmaZulu v Maritzburg United, King Zwelithini Stadium 19:30
Highlands Park v Kaizer Chiefs, Makhulong Stadium 19:30
Polokwane City v SuperSport United, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

After slow starts to their respective 2018/19 Absa Premiership campaigns, who will finish the season ranked higher?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.