Absa Premiership

Chiefs wins Absa Premiership Q-Innovation Quarter One

2019-12-03 09:12
Daniel Akpeyi
Daniel Akpeyi (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Top of the log Kaizer Chiefs have won the 2019/20 Absa Premiership Q-Innovation Quarter One – the first quarter victory by Kaizer Chiefs in four seasons.

Kaizer Chiefs have not won a Quarter since 2014/15 season – which happens to be the last time Amakhosi claimed the Absa Premiership title. In that season, Kaizer Chiefs won both Quarter One and Quarter Four.

This season, they claim the top spot with 19 points from eight fixtures – two points clear of close rivals, Mamelodi Sundowns who finished second in the quarter with 17 points from the same number of matches.

Each side that wins a Quarter gets R1.5 million in prize money.

Quarter One (8 Fixtures), Quarter Two (7 Fixtures), Quarter Three (8 Fixtures), Quarter Four (7 Fixtures).

The PSL congratulates Kaizer Chiefs for their impressive form.

Although the point difference on the current log standings shows a lop-sided contest at the moment, the battle for top spot in Quarter One was closer than many think.

Mamelodi Sundowns and Bidvest Wits pushed Kaizer Chiefs to the end while the likes of Highlands Park, SuperSport United and Polokwane City quietly went about their business also finishing inside the top six brackets.


2018/19 season

- Bidvest Wits won Quarter One with 16 points from eight matches.

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Two with 17 points from seven matches.

- Cape Town City won Quarter Three with 18 points from eight matches.

- Orlando Pirates won Quarter Four with xx points from xx matches

2017/18 season

- Baroka FC won Absa Premiership Quarter One

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Absa Premiership Quarter Two with 13 points from seven matches.

- Orlando Pirates won Absa Premiership Quarter Three with 18 points.

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Four.

2016/17 season

- Bidvest Wits won Absa Premiership Quarter One

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Absa Premiership Quarter Two

- Cape Town City won Absa Premiership Quarter Three

- Polokwane City won Absa Premiership Quarter Four

2015/16 season

- Bidvest Wits won Absa Premiership 2015/16 Quarter 1 (19 Points, 8 games)

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Absa Premiership 2015/16 Quarter 2 (19 points, 7 games)

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Three (19 points)

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Four (16 points – with a game in hand)

2014/15 season

- Kaizer Chiefs won 2014/15 Absa Premiership Quarter 1 and Quarter 4

- Polokwane City claimed Quarter 2 top honours (2014/15 season)

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter 3 (2014/15 season)

Read more on:    kaizer chiefs  |  absa premiership  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Thursday, 12 December 2019
Golden Arrows v Wits, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 18:00
Tuesday, 17 December 2019
Wits v Mamelodi Sundowns, Moses Mabhida Stadium 19:30
Friday, 20 December 2019
Wits v Cape Town City, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.