Absa Premiership

Chiefs plead guilty to Moses Mabhida violence

2018-05-11 09:27
Crowd violence in Durban (Gallo)

Cape Town - The Premier Soccer League (PSL) has confirmed that Kaizer Chiefs have pleaded guilty to the charges against the club for the Moses Mabhida Stadium violence.

Amakhosi fans broke through a chain of security guards after Free State Stars handed the Soweto giants a 2-0 Nedbank Cup semi-final defeat last month.

Stadium property and broadcasting equipment were all damaged during the scenes which saw several security guards hospitalised.

Sport24 reported that eThekwini mayor Zandile Gumede revealed that the damage to the Moses Mabhida Stadium amounted to R2.6 million.

Read the statement below:

Judgment has been reserved in respect of the sanction in the matter between Kaizer Chiefs FC and the Premier Soccer League following a Disciplinary Committee sitting on 09 May 2018.

Kaizer Chiefs pleaded guilty to the charges of misconduct on the part of their supporters on 21 April 2018 during the Nedbank Cup fixture against Free State Stars FC where their supporters invaded the pitch, assaulted fellow supporters and security officials and damaged property at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 26 November 2019
Mamelodi Sundowns v AmaZulu, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Highlands Park v Wits, Makhulong Stadium 19:30
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 27 November 2019
Stellenbosch v Kaizer Chiefs, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
Bloemfontein Celtic v Cape Town City, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Maritzburg United v SuperSport United, Harry Gwala Stadium 19:30
Chippa United v Black Leopards, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
Baroka FC v Golden Arrows, Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Saturday, 30 November 2019
Polokwane City v Bloemfontein Celtic, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Cape Town City v Highlands Park, Cape Town Stadium 18:00
Black Leopards v Golden Arrows, Thohoyandou Stadium 18:00
SuperSport United v Stellenbosch, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.