Absa Premiership

Chiefs dispatch Maritzburg via penalties

2016-10-23 05:54
Itumeleng Khune (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Despite having a good game, Maritzburg United lost their Telkom Knockout Cup Last 16 encounter against Kaizer Chiefs after exiting 4-2 on penalties after a dull 0-0 draw at FNB Stadium on Saturday night.

Kurt Lentjies and Deolin Mekoa failed to beat Itumeleng Khune from the spot whilst Brian Onyango and Bevan Fransman scored for United.

For Steve Komphela's men, Willard Katsande, George Lebese, Lorenzo Gordinho and Keagan Buchanan made sure they converted to book a spot in the Last Eight.

As early as the second minute, Amakhosi showed their intentions when Michelle Katsvairo dispossessed Fransman in the middle of the park, and made a great run into the box only to miss on the right of Bongani Mpandle's goals.

In the 16th minute, the Team of Choice protested for a penalty when Kgotso Moleko handled the ball in the box, but their plea fell on deaf ears.

Just after 30 minutes of action, Erick Mathoho nearly cost Amakhosi when he miskicked the ball towards goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune - Luyanda Ntshangase grabbed it in the box, but his shot was saved by the Bafana Bafana net minder.

Four minutes later, Dennis Wieldiech unleashed a powerful shot which struck the woodwork.

Despite controlling the proceedings, Ernst Middendorp's side failed to score as it remained 0-0 at the interval.

As they came out of the tunnel, Lebese sneaked in at the back of United's defence and his left-footed shot went just wide in the 50th minute.

With seven minutes remaining in the contest, lights went off at the 2010 FIFA World Cup venue and the match was temporarily stopped.

Although the match resumed, both sides failed to create clear cut chances as the 90 minutes ended all-square.

That meant the match had to be decided in extra time.

The opening half was a dull affair, but the second half of the extra time saw Lentjies taking a shot through traffic aiming to catch Khune by surprise, but the keeper was alert to make a save.

There were no goals at the end of both halves and the encounter had to be decided via penalty shootouts where Amakhosi ran out winners.


Kaizer Chiefs

Khune, Khumalo, Gordinho, Mathoho, Moleko, Baloyi (Buchanan 83'), Katsande, Twala, Lebese, Ekstein (Tshabalala 74'), Katsvairo (Macha 61')

Maritzburg United

Mpandle, Fransman, Onyango, Wieldiech (Ndlovu 80'), Moyo, Nale (Van Wyk 73'), Lentjies, Mngonyama, Mekoa, Maboe, Ntshangase (Saal 108')


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Sunday, 15 September 2019
Bloemfontein Celtic v Stellenbosch, Dr Molemela Stadium 15:00
Black Leopards v Baroka FC, Thohoyandou Stadium 15:00
Saturday, 21 September 2019
Stellenbosch v Black Leopards, Athlone Stadium 15:00
Chippa United v Bloemfontein Celtic, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:00
Polokwane City v SuperSport United, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
Mamelodi Sundowns v Maritzburg United, Lucas Moripe Stadium 18:00
Wits v Orlando Pirates, Moses Mabhida Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 22 September 2019
Cape Town City v Golden Arrows, Cape Town Stadium 15:00
Baroka FC v Highlands Park, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.