Absa Premiership

Ajax CT crash to promotion/relegation playoffs

2018-05-12 17:47
Muhsin Ertugral (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Ajax Cape Town will contest the Absa Premiership relegation/promotion playoffs as they finished in 15th position in the standings after suffering a 2-1 defeat to Kaizer Chiefs on Saturday.

The Urban Warriors needed a win to confirm their status in the top-flight but fell to the Amakhosi in a nail-biting encounter at Cape Town Stadium.

Goals by Bernard Parker and man of the match Joseph Molangoane for Kaizer Chiefs secured the three points for the away side with captain Mosa Lebusa scoring for Ajax.

The promotion/relegation playoffs sees the team who finishes 15th (Ajax) battle against the teams who finish second and third in the National First Division.

The PSL confirmed the fixtures with the playoffs set to start on Wednesday, May 23. The format consists of a 'mini-league' with each side playing each other in home and away ties.

Promotion/relegation schedule in full:

16 May 2018: Black Leopards vs Ajax Cape Town
20 May 2018 Jomo Cosmos vs Black Leopards
23 May 2018: Ajax Cape Town vs Jomo Cosmos
26 May 2018: Ajax Cape Town vs Black Leopards
30 May 2018: Black Leopards vs Jomo Cosmos
02 June 2018: Jomo Cosmos vs Ajax Cape Town


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 26 November 2019
Mamelodi Sundowns v AmaZulu, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Highlands Park v Wits, Makhulong Stadium 19:30
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 27 November 2019
Stellenbosch v Kaizer Chiefs, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
Bloemfontein Celtic v Cape Town City, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Maritzburg United v SuperSport United, Harry Gwala Stadium 19:30
Chippa United v Black Leopards, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
Baroka FC v Golden Arrows, Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Saturday, 30 November 2019
Polokwane City v Bloemfontein Celtic, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Cape Town City v Highlands Park, Cape Town Stadium 18:00
Black Leopards v Golden Arrows, Thohoyandou Stadium 18:00
SuperSport United v Stellenbosch, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.