Absa Premiership

Ajax aiming for Cup double

2016-03-04 17:30
Rivaldo Coetzee (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Ajax Cape Town and Free State Stars will meet for the second time in less than two weeks when they clash in the last 32 of the Nedbank Cup at Athlone Stadium on 5 March 2016, kick-off is at 18:00.

The Urban Warriors will be hoping to add the Nedbank Cup to their trophy cabinet as they have already won the MTN8 Cup back in September last year.


Ajax come into the match on the back of a few disappointing results: they have failed to win their last two league matches – a loss against the same Stars they face in this match, as well as a 1-1 draw at home to Chippa United in their last outing – and also suffered a loss to Sagrada Esperanca in the CAF Confederation Cup last weekend.

Stars have won two of their last three league matches, with their last outing a 1-0 win over the Urban Warriors on February 24. Notably, the Free State side has claimed just one win from their last six away matches.


Ajax and Stars have met in nine cup matches since 1999/2000, with the Free State side claiming four outright wins (as well one by penalties) compared to three for the Cape club. The teams’ most recent cup meeting was in the first round of the 2011/12 Telkom Knockout, with the Urban Warriors claiming a 1-0 home win, while they last met in the Nedbank Cup in 2011, with Ea Lla Koto winning 2-1 at home.

In all, the teams have met in 35 matches across all competitions. Stars have picked up 16 wins compared to 10 for Ajax, while nine matches have been drawn. This season’s results between the teams in the league saw the Cape side win 2-1 at home, while the return game saw Ea Lla Koto claim revenge with a 1-0 victory just last month.


Ajax have won the Nedbank Cup once (2007) and been runners-up twice, including last season when they were beaten 4-3 on penalties by Mamelodi Sundowns, having held the Tshwane side to a goalless draw in the final at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

Stars have never won the Nedbank Cup, but they were runners-up in 1994 when they lost the final 1-0 to Vaal Professionals (they were known as QwaQwa Stars at the time). Last season Ea Lla Koto dropped out of the competition in the last 32 after losing on penalties to Bidvest Wits.

Read more on:    ajax cape town  |  free state stars  |  psl  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Assuming the 2019/20 Absa Premiership season can't be concluded prior to the 31 July deadline decreed by FIFA, what would be the fairest way to settle matters - all bias aside?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.