Absa Premiership

Absa Prem Goal of the Season shortlist revealed

2018-05-25 12:41
Hlompho Kekana for mamelodi sundowns
Hlompho Kekana (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Following a week of voting for the Absa Premiership Goal of the Season, the nine nominees have now been cut to a shortlist of three, from which the best goal of the 2017/18 season will be selected.

Football supporters and the general public have had the chance to vote for the Goal of the Season.

The goal with the most votes out of the three finalists will be announced as the winning goal at the PSL Awards on Tuesday, May 29.

The nine original nominees were the goals that won the Absa Premiership Goal of the Month awards from August 2017 to May 2018.

Finalists for the 2017/18 Absa Premiership Goal of the Season award:

• Hlompho Kekana - Orlando Pirates vs Mamelodi Sundowns (November 1, 2017)

• Justin Shonga - Chippa United vs Orlando Pirates (February 25, 2018)

• Siphelele Magubane - Polokwane City vs Golden Arrows (March 4, 2018)    

Absa, sponsors of the Absa Premiership, ran a national Absa Premiership Goal of the Season competition to encourage fans to vote for their best goal.

Over the past week, football supporters and the public were encouraged to vote for their Goal of the Season to stand a chance to win a VIP Experience courtesy of Absa, including handing over of the award live at the PSL Awards.

Three supporters will be chosen through a random draw from the entire list of Goal of the Season votes cast during the competition period and will be offered a VIP Experience at the PSL Awards.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 17 December 2019
Wits v Mamelodi Sundowns, Moses Mabhida Stadium 19:30
Friday, 20 December 2019
Wits v Cape Town City, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 21 December 2019
Highlands Park v Golden Arrows, Makhulong Stadium 15:30
Orlando Pirates v Black Leopards, Orlando Stadium 15:30
Baroka FC v Stellenbosch, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Polokwane City, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 18:00
Chippa United v SuperSport United, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.