Absa Premiership

Wits sit atop Q3 standings

2015-03-05 12:49
PSL trophy (File)

Cape Town - The PSL Q3 challenge is shaping up to be a close race with Bidvest Wits leading Mamelodi Sundowns and the rest of the chasing pack.

Gavin Hunt's men, who beat 1-0 Sundowns in their last PSL encounter, have amassed 16 points from their 6 fixtures in this quarter - winning five and drawing just one fixture.

The Brazilians, who were level with Wits at the halfway mark, are on 13 points while AmaTuks are not yet out of the race - the Pretoria side have 11 points but have played one less game than both Wits and Sundowns. 

Bloemfontein Celtic as well as Gordon Igesunds' SuperSport United are also on 10 points with a game in hand over leaders, Wits.

As it stands, Kaizer Chiefs have 11 points from 6 matches and are in fifth place while Saturday's Soweto Derby foes, Orlando Pirates, are in third place with 12 points from their 6 games. 

Q3 consists of eight games with the winner taking home a cheque for R1.5 million. 

Q3 log:

Upcoming PSL matches:

6 March 2015

Wits v Bloemfontein Celtic, Bidvest Stadium 20:00

7 March 2015

Kaizer Chiefs v Orlando Pirates, FNB Stadium 15:30

SuperSport United v Ajax Cape Town, Peter Mokaba Stadium 18:00

Free State Stars v Mamelodi Sundowns, Charles Mopeli Stadium 20:15

Black Aces v AmaZulu, Mbombela Stadium 20:15

8 March 2015

Platinum Stars v Moroka Swallows, Royal Bafokeng Stadium 15:30

University of Pretoria v Maritzburg United, Tuks Stadium 15:30

Q-Innovation Facts:

Current log leaders, Kaizer Chiefs won Quarter One (Q1) while Polokwane City were the surprise winners of Q2.  

Last season's. champions Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter 1, 3 and 4. Kaizer Chiefs the remaining quarter.

Only four clubs have won Q-Innovation prizes since it's inception in the 2012/13 - Kaizer Chiefs (4), Mamelodi Sundowns (3), Platinum Stars (2) and Polokwane City (1). 

Follow Sport24's Wade Pretorius on Twitter: @wadepretorius


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Friday, 28 February 2020
Maritzburg United v Stellenbosch, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 29 February 2020
Orlando Pirates v Kaizer Chiefs, FNB Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Highlands Park, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v AmaZulu, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 18:00
SuperSport United v Wits, Mbombela Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 01 March 2020
Bloemfontein Celtic v Baroka FC, Dr Molemela Stadium 15:30
Polokwane City v Black Leopards, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.