Absa Premiership

TKO last 16 draw procedure

2015-09-21 10:30
Telkom Knockout trophy (Backpagepix)

Cape Town - The 2015/16 Telkom Knockout draw will be conducted at 12:00 with all the PSL big guns  seeded in the first bowl.

Below is the draw procedure for today’s Telkom Knockout Last 16 draw.

The draw will be conducted by PSL General Manager of Football, Derek Blanckensee, at the Wanderers Club in Johannesburg.

The draw assistants will be Brand de Villiers (PSL Chief Executive) and Braam Wessels from sponsors, Telkom.  

The draw procedure:

- Three bowls will be used for the draw

- The first bowl will contain the seeded eight clubs – (clubs that finished inside the top eight during the 2014/15 season)

- The second bowl will contain the names of the other eight clubs.

- The third bowl will be empty – to be used to determine home and away

How it will work: 

1. We draw a ball from the seeded bowl and place it in the empty bowl without opening it

2. We draw a ball from the unseeded bowl and place it in the empty bowl without opening it

3. We then “stir” the centre bowl and draw the first ball for home, the second ball for away

First Bowl: Kaizer Chiefs, Mamelodi Sundowns, Bidvest Wits, Orlando Pirates, Ajax Cape Town, SuperSport United, Bloemfontein Celtic, Maritzburg United.

Second Bowl: Free State Stars, Mpumalanga Black Aces, Platinum Stars, Polokwane City, University of Pretoria, Chippa United, Jomo Cosmos, Golden Arrows.

Read more on:    telkom knockout  |  psl  |  brand de villiers  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 26 November 2019
Mamelodi Sundowns v AmaZulu, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Highlands Park v Wits, Makhulong Stadium 19:30
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 27 November 2019
Stellenbosch v Kaizer Chiefs, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
Bloemfontein Celtic v Cape Town City, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Maritzburg United v SuperSport United, Harry Gwala Stadium 19:30
Chippa United v Black Leopards, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
Baroka FC v Golden Arrows, Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Saturday, 30 November 2019
Polokwane City v Bloemfontein Celtic, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Cape Town City v Highlands Park, Cape Town Stadium 18:00
Black Leopards v Golden Arrows, Thohoyandou Stadium 18:00
SuperSport United v Stellenbosch, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.