Absa Premiership

SuperSport, Celtic share spoils

2015-11-04 22:00
Gordon Igesund (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - SuperSport United and Bloemfontein Celtic played to a 1-1 stalemate in an Absa Premiership clash at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane on Wednesday.
The result doesn't do either side any favours, with Siwelele seeing their winless run stretched to four games while SuperSport remain in 12th place on the log standings. 
Gordon Igesund included Bradley Grobler and Michael Boxall in his starting XI, with Dove Wome and Clayton Daniels serving suspensions - the recalled duo would play a huge role in the outcome of the match. 
Grobler found the opener after 14 minutes, with the Matsatsantsa striker finishing off from close range. 
Ronwen Williams was then forced into a reflex save to deny Keagan Buchanan before Patrick Tignyemb had to be on his toes at the other end of the pitch, to tip Fagrie Lakay's effort over the crossbar just short of the half-hour mark. 
The game continued to ebb and flow with both teams showing plenty of attacking intent. 
Grobler went close to completing his brace with a header in the 52nd minute before Celtic were handed an opportunity to equalise following a handball by Boxall inside the area. 
Geofrey Massa duly hammered the ball past Williams for his second goal of the campaign with 61 minutes on the clock. 
Jeremy Brockie had a chance to steal all three points for the hosts with four minutes of regulation time remaining, but Tignyemb pulled off a world class save to deny the New Zealand international and consequently earn Phunya Sele Sele a point. 


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Friday, 19 January 2018
Wits v Bloemfontein Celtic, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 20 January 2018
Cape Town City FC v Ajax Cape Town, Cape Town Stadium 15:30
Free State Stars v Maritzburg United, Goble Park 15:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Platinum Stars, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 18:00
AmaZulu FC v SuperSport United, King Zwelithini Stadium 20:15
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 21 January 2018
Chippa United v Golden Arrows, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Baroka FC v Kaizer Chiefs, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.