Absa Premiership

Sundowns rewrite record books

2014-05-13 11:20
Pitso Mosimane (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - 2013/14 Absa Premiership title winners Mamelodi Sundowns have rewritten the record books with their latest triumph, according to the Soccer Laduma website.

Records set by the class of 2013/14 include:

- Record haul of 65 league points in the 16-team PSL era (previous best Kaizer Chiefs with 63)

- Record 20 victories (out of 30 matches) along with five draws and five defeats

- Record number of PSL titles - 6 (Orlando Pirates - 4, Kaizer Chiefs - 3, SuperSport United - 3, Manning Rangers - 1 and Santos - 1, the other winners since inception in 1996/97)

Furthermore, the Brazilians are on course to set a new record when it comes to remaining unbeaten in league play. As it stands, the club are on an 11-match streak (10 wins and one draw) and will take aim at the current record of 15 matches - held by the Amakhosi in 2012/13 - when next season commences.

Read more on:    mamelodi sundowns  |  psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 19 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Cape Town City FC, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 20 December 2017
Bloemfontein Celtic v SuperSport United, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Friday, 05 January 2018
Wits v Free State Stars, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Ajax Cape Town v Maritzburg United, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.