Absa Premiership

Stars, Sundowns renew Cup rivalry

2015-10-23 10:38
Teko Modise (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Free State Stars and Mamelodi Sundowns will add another chapter to their cup rivalry when the teams meet in the Telkom Knockout quarter-final at Goble Park.

Stars, who won the League Cup in 1994 when it was known as the Coca-Cola Cup, advanced into the last eight with a 1-0 home win over Bidvest Wits in the previous round. Attacking midfielder Danny Venter scored the decisive goal for the Free State side.

Sundowns, who have two League Cup titles to their name (1990 & 1999), beat Chippa United 2-0 in the last 16 to advance into the quarterfinals. Keagan Dolly and Hlompho Kekana scored the Tshwane side’s goals against the Chilli Boys.

Stars and Sundowns have a rich cup history between them, having met no less than 14 times since 1989. The Brazilians have generally emerged as the victors, claiming 10 wins compared to just three for Ea Lla Koto.

In fact, Stars have not beaten Sundowns in a cup match since the very first season of the Premier Soccer League era, way back in 1996/97. Since then, the Tshwane giants have racked up nine outright victories (alongside one draw between the teams).

The teams’ most recent cup meeting was a Telkom Knockout classic: in 2009/10 the Brazilians won 4-3 away from home in the first round, with a brace from Benedict Vilakazi inspiring them to victory over Ea Lla Koto. Neutrals will certainly be hoping for a repeat of that thrilling encounter when the teams meet in the TKO this season.

In all, the teams have clashed in 65 league and cup matches, with ‘Downs claiming 34 wins compared to Stars’ 13. The Brazilians beat the Free State side 2-0 both home and away in last season’s pair of league encounters.

Both teams were in league action in midweek and claimed morale-boosting away victories: Stars won 2-0 at Polokwane City thanks to a brace from Andrea Fileccia, while Anthony Laffor scored the only goal of the game as ‘Downs beat Bloemfontein Celtic at the Seisa Ramabodu Stadium.

Kick-off is at 15:00 on October 25.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 17 December 2019
Wits v Mamelodi Sundowns, Moses Mabhida Stadium 19:30
Friday, 20 December 2019
Wits v Cape Town City, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 21 December 2019
Highlands Park v Golden Arrows, Makhulong Stadium 15:30
Orlando Pirates v Black Leopards, Orlando Stadium 15:30
Baroka FC v Stellenbosch, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Polokwane City, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 18:00
Chippa United v SuperSport United, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.