Absa Premiership

Pirates name side for Carling Cup

2015-07-29 22:40
Carling Black Label Cup trophy

Johannesburg - With only two days to go to the fifth edition of the Carling Black Label Cup game between Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates, the starting line-ups for both teams have been announced.

The Amakhosi and the Buccaneers will again lock horns in the 2015/16 PSL curtain-raiser on Saturday at the FNB stadium. The match will kick-off at 15:30.

Fans of both teams were once again handed the opportunity to choose the starting XI for this encounter, which will be played in front of a near capacity crowd on Saturday.

After the votes were tallied, fans of the Buccaneers had selected Kermit Erasmus to start up front with Lehlohonolo Majoro.

The big blow for the Sea Robbers will be the unavailability of defensive duo Thabo Matlaba and Rooi Mahamutsa who are both nursing injuries. Matlaba has been laid low by a hamstring injury while Mahamutsa missed out with an injured Achilles. 

Heading into their final pre-season fixture, the Buccaneers will be looking to defend their title and, at the same time, continue with their dominance over their perennial rivals.

In last season's encounter, Orlando Pirates walked away victorious after defeating Kaizer Chiefs on penalties. The Sea Robbers won the shootout 6-5 on penalties after a goalless stalemate.

As it stands, Pirates have three wins in the competition while Chiefs have won the Cup just once, back in 2013.

The starting line-ups are as follows:

Kaizer Chiefs XI: Brilliant Khuzwayo, Kgotso Moleko, Siboniso Gaxa, Siyanda Xulu, Tsepo Masilela, Simphiwe Tshabalala, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, George Maluleka, George Lebese, Bernard Parker, David Zulu.

Orlando Pirates XI: Brighton Mhlongo, Happy Jele, Tshepo Gumede, Siyabonga Sangweni, Patrick Phungwayo, Sifiso Myeni, Issa Sarr, Oupa Manyisa, Thabo Rakhale, Kermit Erasmus, Lehlohonolo Majoro.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 19 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Cape Town City FC, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 20 December 2017
Bloemfontein Celtic v SuperSport United, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Friday, 05 January 2018
Wits v Free State Stars, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Ajax Cape Town v Maritzburg United, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.