Absa Premiership

Paulse dedicates win to De Sa

2015-09-21 09:30
Nathan Paulse (Supplied)

Cape Town - Ajax Cape Town striker Nathan Paulse insists their MTN8 final triumph is only the beginning, and has dedicated the trophy to head coach Roger de Sa.

The Urban Warriors were too good for Kaizer Chiefs after they nicked a 1-0 win at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Saturday, with Paulse firing home the only goal of the game from the penalty spot.

The youthful Ajax squad matured at the right time to clinch the cup after losing the Nedbank Cup final to Mamelodi Sundowns five months ago, while also earning De Sa his first final success in six attempts.

"This goes to my team-mates and the coach. I know that Roger de Sa has been ragged because he has reached five cup finals and he has never won," Paulse said after the match.

"He is an amazing coach. He blends us, the experienced and the youth well.

"I always tell the youngsters that if you aren't in this game to win then you shouldn't be playing.

"Half of these boys are going to become top players, so it's important for us as a team to stay humble, but I think for the next few hours we are going to forget about being humble to be champions."

Read more on:    ajax cape town  |  psl  |  roger de sa  |  nathan paulse  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Friday, 15 December 2017
Cape Town City FC v AmaZulu FC, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 16 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Bloemfontein Celtic, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v Polokwane City, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Free State Stars v Orlando Pirates, Goble Park 18:00
Wits v Platinum Stars, Bidvest Stadium 20:15
Kaizer Chiefs v Ajax Cape Town, Moses Mabhida Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 17 December 2017
Baroka FC v SuperSport United, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Maritzburg United, Princess Magogo Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.