PSL releases season fixtures

2011-07-15 19:53

Johannesburg - The Premier Soccer League on Friday released the 2011-12 Absa Premiership fixtures as well as the dates for the various Cup competitions.

The eagerly awaited 2011-2012 Season will kick off with the MTN8 quarterfinal matches on the weekend of 5-7 August.

A week later the Absa Premiership opener sees champions Orlando Pirates travelling to Polokwane to take on Black Leopards on Friday evening (12 August).

“We’ve done our best to accommodate requests from the clubs while adhering to the outcome of the public fixture draw” said PSL general manager: football, Derek Blanckensee.

“We’ve had to take into account various factors in drawing up the fixtures, including Fifa dates as well as requests from Safa for extra preparation time ahead of some of Bafana Bafana’s Afcon qualifying matches.

"The first half of the season will conclude on 21 December to allow Bafana Bafana extra preparation time ahead of next year’s Afcon tournament.”

“While the League will try its best to keep changes to the fixture schedule to a minimum, we have yet to receive confirmed dates for the two Caf club competitions and this will force us to change some fixtures during the course of the season,” Blanckensee added.

The 2011-2012 season will also see matches being featured on Tuesday evenings.

Other key dates include:

10 September 2011 – MTN8 Final
10 December 2011 – Telkom Knockout Final
15 February 2012 – Resumption of Absa Premiership
19 May 2012 – Final Round of Absa Premiership
26 May 2012 – Nedbank Cup Final

The National First Division fixture list now consists of 30 matches for each team in a single Division of 16 teams.

First week of PSL fixtures:

Friday 12 August 2011

Santos vs Moroka Swallows Athlone Stadium 19:30
Black Leopards vs Orlando Pirates Peter Mokaba 20:00

Saturday 13 August 2011

Free State Stars vs Supersport United Charles Mopeli 15:00
Platinum Stars vs Ajax Cape Town Royal Bafokeng Stadium 15:00
Golden Arrows vs Bloemfontein Celtic King Zwelithini 18:00
Kaizer Chiefs vs Jomo Cosmos FNB Stadium 20:15

Sunday 14 August 2011

Mamelodi Sundowns vs Amazulu Lucas Masterpieces Moripe 15:00
Maritzburg United vs Bidvest Wits Harry Gwala Stadium 15:00 

Tuesday 16 August 2011

Bloemfontein Celtic vs Black Leopards Seisa Ramabodu Stadium 19:30
Orlando Pirates vs Platinum Stars Orlando Stadium 19:30

Wednesday 17 August 2011

Ajax Cape Town vs Maritzburg United Cape Town Stadium 19:30
Amazulu vs Free State Stars King Zwelithini 19:30
Bidvest Wits vs Santos Bidvest Stadium 19:30
Supersport United vs Golden Arrows Lucas Masterpieces Moripe 19:30
Jomo Cosmos vs Mamelodi Sundowns Makhulong Stadium 20:00
Moroka Swallows vs Kaizer Chiefs Dobsonville Stadium 20:00