Absa Premiership

PSL name award nominees

2013-05-17 10:03
Stuart Baxter (Gallo)
Johannesburg - The Premier Soccer League have confirmed the nominees for the end-of-season awards, which will be handed out after the conclusion of the campaign at the end of May.

The PSL heads into the final round of fixtures on Saturday, with Kaizer Chiefs having already wrapped up the league crown following their 1-1 draw against SuperSport United on Wednesday.

All 16 teams are in action on the day, although Amakhosi and Matsatsantsa's seasons do not finish there, with the pair still to clash in the Nedbank Cup final on May 25.

The candidates for the various honours have already been named, though, following the judging process on Thursday.

Nominees (in alphabetical order):

Premiership Coach of the Season:

Stuart Baxter (Kaizer Chiefs)

Cavin Johnson (Platinum Stars)

Clinton Larsen (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season:

Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates)

Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

Premiership Young Player of the Season:

Tshepo Gumede (Platinum Stars)

Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

Bongani Zulu (University of Pretoria)

Absa-lutely Awesome Goal:

Mor Diouf (SuperSport United) v Mamelodi Sundowns, 10 March 2013

Fikru Lemessa (Free State Stars) v Kaizer Chiefs, 16 February 2013

Sifiso Myeni (Orlando Pirates) v Free State, 10 November 2012

Read more on:    psl  |  stuart baxter  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Wednesday, 13 December 2017
Free State Stars v SuperSport United, Goble Park 19:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Maritzburg United, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Friday, 15 December 2017
Cape Town City FC v AmaZulu FC, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 16 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Bloemfontein Celtic, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v Polokwane City, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Free State Stars v Orlando Pirates, Goble Park 18:00
Wits v Platinum Stars, Bidvest Stadium 20:15
Kaizer Chiefs v Ajax Cape Town, Moses Mabhida Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.