Absa Premiership

PSL welcomes promoted NFD clubs

2015-07-28 12:45
PSL chief executive Brand de Villiers confirmed they had received the brand-swap application. PHOTO: Samuel Shivambu / BackpagePix

Cape Town - Brand de Villiers, the Premier Soccer League Chief Executive, has welcomed newly promoted clubs, Mthatha Bucks and Mbombela United to the National First Division.  

The two clubs were promoted to the National First Division (NFD) this past weekend during the ABC Motsepe League National Play-offs in Kimberly, Northern Cape Province after they finished top in their respective groups.

Mthatha Bucks is from uMtata in the Eastern Cape while Mbombela United hails from Mpumalanga Province. The two clubs will now form part of the 32 members of the PSL and will compete in the country’s second highest level.

"On behalf of all the members of the NSL, I would like to first congratulate Mbombela United FC and Mthatha Bucks FC for achieving this feat," De Villiers said.

"This is a proud moment for them and their supporters and we wish them the best of luck during the 2015/16 season in the National First Division.

"We are looking forward to working closely with them in the NSL. Through our induction process which includes our Compliance Manual, we will equip both clubs to adapt easily to life at this level.

"We hope that their participation at this level will also add value to their communities."

Mbombela United are no strangers. They qualified for both the 2012/13 and 2013/14 Nedbank Cup last round of 32. Mthatha Bucks and Mbombela United replace Maluti FET College and Garankuwa United who were both relegated to the ABC Motsepe League.

Read more on:    psl  |  brand de villiers  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Saturday, 16 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Bloemfontein Celtic, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v Polokwane City, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Free State Stars v Orlando Pirates, Goble Park 18:00
Wits v Platinum Stars, Bidvest Stadium 20:15
Kaizer Chiefs v Ajax Cape Town, Moses Mabhida Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 17 December 2017
Baroka FC v SuperSport United, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Maritzburg United, Princess Magogo Stadium 15:30
Tuesday, 19 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Cape Town City FC, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.