Absa Premiership

MTN8 semi-final draw procedure

2015-08-06 11:18
MTN8 trophy (File)

Cape Town - The MTN8 semi-final draw will take place on Thursday, August 6 following the conclusion of the quarter-final round. 

PSL General Manager of Football, Derek Blanckensee will be the draw master assisted by representatives from sponsors, MTN and PSL.

Ajax Cape Town overcame all the odds in securing a semi-final spot with victory over Orlando Pirates in their very own backyard.

In a game controlled by 'moments of madness' as described by Gavin Hunt, Bidvest Wits went on to win SuperSport 3-1 in their quarter-final encounter.

Mamelodi Sundowns were also dumped out of R8m cash prized tournament in a penalty shoot-out while Kaizer Chiefs left things late in a eight goal thriller to see off Maritzburg United at the FNB Satdium. 

Below is the draw procedure.

Draw Procedure:

-          One bowl/pot containing four balls will be used

-          The semi-finals will be contested over two legs, home and away

-          There will be no seeding

-          The first club to be drawn will play at home in the first leg

-          The second club will play against the club drawn first (above) ie. away in the first leg

-          The third club drawn will be at home in the other first leg tie

-          The fourth club drawn will play away against the club drawn third (above) ie. away in the first leg


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Friday, 24 January 2020
Cape Town City v Black Leopards, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
SuperSport United v Chippa United, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 25 January 2020
Stellenbosch v Polokwane City, Cape Town Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Kaizer Chiefs, Moses Mabhida Stadium 15:30
Orlando Pirates v AmaZulu, Orlando Stadium 18:00
Sunday, 26 January 2020
Baroka FC v Maritzburg United, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.