Absa Premiership

Igesund seeks TKO boost

2015-09-30 11:00
Gordon Igesund (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - SuperSport United begin the defence of their Telkom Knockout title with a trip to Polokwane City in the round of 16 on Wednesday.

Gordon Igesund's side won the competition for the first time in 2014 when they beat the previous year's winners Platinum Stars 3-2 in the final.

Matsatsantsa will be hoping for a cup tonic as their league form is a major concern. Since beating Orlando Pirates 1-0 on the opening day, they have gone five games without a win, including three straight defeats in the Premiership.

Rise and Shine haven't fared much better this season as they too have managed just one victory from their opening six league matches - also on the opening day when they triumphed 3-2 against Bloemfontein Celtic.

However, their three defeats have been interspaced by two draws, although Kosta Papic's men will be just as desperate to get their campaign back on track, hopefully starting with the scalp of defending TKO champions United in midweek.

The Limpopo outfit will be hoping for better fortunes this time around, having been dumped out at the same stage last season when they lost 2-1 to Orlando Pirates.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 19 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Cape Town City FC, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 20 December 2017
Bloemfontein Celtic v SuperSport United, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Friday, 05 January 2018
Wits v Free State Stars, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Ajax Cape Town v Maritzburg United, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.