Absa Premiership

Dead SA player wins NZ award

2014-03-17 16:02
Keryn Jordan (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Former Bafana Bafana player Keryn Jordan has been named New Zealand's ASB Premiership Player of the Decade.

According to the ASB Premiership's official website, player- and team-of-the-decade promotions gave fans the opportunity to select the players who have had the biggest impact on the competition since its inception in 2004.

The fan voting overwhelmingly settled on Jordan, who sadly lost his battle with cancer in 2013, as the best player to have graced the ASB Premiership competition, the striker earning the Golden Boot in the first two seasons.

Another South African, Grant Young, made the substitutes' bench for the division's Team of the Decade.

Jordan’s widow Sherry, his former Auckland City coach Allan Jones, club chairperson Ivan Vuksich and New Zealand Football CEO Andy Martin were on hand on Sunday for the presentation of the award in Auckland.

Jones, who recruited Jordan to the club after the South African spent the inaugural season with Waitakere United, said the striker was a unique game-changer.

“Keryn had a massive effect both within the team and in the league,” said Jones.

“Opponents were so conscious of his presence they over-covered the space he would use which often provided the opportunity for players breaking from our midfield to score.”

Second on the all-time ASB Premiership scoring list with 62 goals, Jones spoke of a player who ticked all the boxes.

“Keryn had an excellent attitude to work and demanded much from himself as well as those around him. He was a delight to coach, always interested and very professional in his approach to the game.

“His all-round technical ability was high, both on the ground and in the air. He was a clinical finisher and scored big goals in big games.

“Technically, he possessed one of the tightest reverse chop turns I’ve ever seen and he constantly wrong-footed centre backs with great embarrassment as those turns often produced direct strikes and goals.”

Jordan, who was 37 when he died, earned one cap for Bafana Bafana, and was a member of the Manning Rangers squad that won the inaugural Premier Soccer League title in 1996/97. 

ASB Premiership Team of the Decade:

1. Danny ROBINSON (GK) - Waitakere United & Waikato FC
2. James PRITCHETT (D) - Auckland City FC
3. Ian HOGG (D) - Auckland City FC, Hawke's Bay United & Waitakere United
4. Ivan VICELICH (D) - Auckland City FC
5. Danny HAY (D) - Waitakere United
6. Chris BALE (M) - Waitakere United, Team Wellington & Auckland City FC
7. Aaron CLAPHAM (M) - Canterbury United
8. Albert RIERA (M) - Auckland City FC
9. Keryn JORDAN (F) - Auckland City FC & Waitakere United
10. Roy KRISHNA (F) - Waitakere United & Auckland City FC
11. Benjamin TOTORI (F) - YoungHeart Manawatu & Waitakere United


12. Ross NICHOLSON (GK) - Auckland City FC & YoungHeart Manawatu
13. Allan PEARCE (F) - Waitakere United
14. Grant YOUNG (F) - Auckland City FC
15. Jake BUTLER (M) - Waitakere United
16. Ben SIGMUND (D) - Auckland City FC & Canterbury United

Coach: Allan JONES - Auckland City FC

Read more on:    soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Friday, 19 January 2018
Wits v Bloemfontein Celtic, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 20 January 2018
Cape Town City FC v Ajax Cape Town, Cape Town Stadium 15:30
Free State Stars v Maritzburg United, Goble Park 15:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Platinum Stars, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 18:00
AmaZulu FC v SuperSport United, King Zwelithini Stadium 20:15
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 21 January 2018
Chippa United v Golden Arrows, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Baroka FC v Kaizer Chiefs, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.