Absa Premiership

Chiefs seek to build on Cup victories

2015-09-17 10:52
Steve Komphela (Supplied)

Cape Town - Ajax Cape Town and Kaizer Chiefs will battle for the right to be called 2015 MTN8 champions when they meet in the final at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth.

Ajax have advanced to the final thanks to a 1-0 win over Orlando Pirates in the quarter-finals, followed by a 2-1 aggregate victory against Bidvest Wits in the semifinals.

The Cape Town side, under the leadership of coach Roger De Sa, have looked composed and intelligent in the way they have approached their cup matches, belying their youthful nature.

Chiefs, meanwhile, opened their season with a massively entertaining 5-3 win over Maritzburg United in the quarters, followed by a more controlled and subdued 2-1 aggregate  victory over Bloemfontein Celtic in the final four.

New coach Steve Komphela is still imprinting his own identity on the team, and nothing would help his cause more than lifting the MTN8 trophy.

This match sees Ajax and Chiefs renew their rivalry in cup competitions: the teams have met in 11 previous matches in this regard, with the Soweto side claiming four wins compared to three for the Urban Warriors. Each side has scored 12 goals in the sequence.

However, an interesting twist to the cup statistics is that the Amakhosi have never claimed an outright win over Ajax in the Top Eight.

Their first such meeting was in the semifinal of the BP Top 8 back in 2000/01, when the Cape side claimed a stunning 3-0 away win – one of the goals was scored by one of their most famous graduates, former Bafana Bafana captain Steven Pienaar.

The teams next met in the competition in the semi-finals of the MTN8 in 2009: Ajax won their home leg 1-0 before the return game ended in a thrilling 3-3 draw that is remembered as a classic. The pair’s most recent cup clashes were in the semis of the 2011 MTN8. The Amakhosi’s home game ended goalless, while the return leg in Cape Town finished 1-1 – this saw Chiefs advance to the final on away goals.

Included in the teams’ cup history is one final: the 2009/10 Telkom Knockout, which was won 2-1 by Chiefs thanks to goals from Mandla Masango and Knowledge Musona.

Across all competitions, the Amakhosi have claimed 18 wins compared to Ajax’s 12 from 43 matches. Chiefs have also enjoyed superiority over the Cape side in recent meetings: the last three league games between the teams have all been won by the Soweto side, who have scored four unanswered goals in the process.

Kick-off at 15:00 on Saturday, September 19.

Read more on:    kaizer chiefs  |  ajax cape town  |  mtn8 final  |  psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Sunday, 17 December 2017
Baroka FC v SuperSport United, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Maritzburg United, Princess Magogo Stadium 15:30
Tuesday, 19 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Cape Town City FC, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 20 December 2017
Bloemfontein Celtic v SuperSport United, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.