Absa Premiership

Bucs' stars in line for CAF crown

2015-10-12 10:33
Thamsanqa Gabuza (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Four Orlando Pirates players are in contention to win CAF's Africa-based Player of the Year award.

Captain Oupa Manyisa, goalkeeper Felipe Ovono and forwards Kermit Erasmus and Thamsanqa Gabuza were named on the 24-man shortlist for the award on Sunday.

The quartet have all been an integral part in Orlando Pirates' CAF Confederation Cup final where the Sea Robbers will face Etoile Sahel of Tunisia in the two-leg final.

The Soweto giants opposition have had two of their players nominated for the award. 

Ahmed Akaichi and Baghdâd Bounedjah have been singled out as the Tunisian side's best performers.

The 24-man shortlist for CAF's Africa-based Player of the Year award:

Abdeladim Khadrouf (Moghreb Tetouan, Morocco), Abdelmalek Ziaya (ES SETIF, Algeria) Ahmed Akaichi (Etoile du Sahel, Tunisia), Andiramahitsinoro Carolus (USMA, Algeria), Baghdâd Bounedjah (Etoile du Sahel, Tunisia), Bakri el Madina (El Merriekh, Sudan), Bassem Morsi (Zamalek, Egypt), Boris Moubhio (AC. Leopards, Congo), Djigui Diarra (Stade Malien, Mali), Felipe Ovono (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Guelassiognon Sylvain Gbohouo (T.P Mazembe, D.R Congo), Hazem Emam (Zamalek, Egypt), Hocine Ragued (Espérance de Tunis, Tunisia), Kermit Erasmus (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Malick Evouna (Al Ahly, Egypt), Mbwana Aly Samatta (T.P Mazembé, D.R Congo), Mohamed Koffi (Zamalek, Egypt), Mohamed Meftah (USMA, Algeria), Moudather el Tahir (Al Hilal, Sudan) , Oupa Manyisa (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Robert Kidiaba (T.P Mazembe, D.R Congo), Roger Assalé (T.P Mazembe, D.R Congo), Thamsanqa Gabuza (Orlando Pirates, South Africa) and (Zein Edin Farahat USMA, Algeria) 


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Friday, 31 January 2020
Maritzburg United v Cape Town City, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 01 February 2020
Highlands Park v Baroka FC, Makhulong Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v Orlando Pirates, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v SuperSport United, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15:30
Sunday, 02 February 2020
AmaZulu v Polokwane City, Kings Park Stadium 15:30
Black Leopards v Stellenbosch, Thohoyandou Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.