Absa Premiership

Baxter: SA soccer progressing

2015-05-18 11:29
Tefu Mashamaite (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Following Tefu Mashamaite’s Players’ Player of the Season award, Stuart Baxter believes that South African soccer is progressing.

Read: Baxter revels after PSL award

Kaizer Chiefs players walked away with five individual trophies at the PSL awards, which were held at the Sandton Convention Centre on Sunday night.

The first Amakhosi to receive an award was George Maluleka for the MTN Last Man Standing.

Mashamaite’s collected three awards on the evening - Absa Premiership Defender of the Season, Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season and PSL Footballer of the Season.

“Masha’s awards were deserved,” said Baxter on the clubs website.

“Especially rewarding was the Players’ Player of the Season, which is chosen by the PSL players.

“They voted for character, discipline and focus.

“Defending is not the sexiest part of the game. Selecting Masha shows that South African soccer is progressing.”

Baxter also received an award and was named the Absa Premiership Coach of the Season.

Meanwhile, Mamelodi Sundowns’ Teko Modise received two awards for Midfielder of the Season and Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament, while Bidvest Wits’ Phumlani Ntshangase was selected as the Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season. Wits’ Moeneeb Josephs was handed over the Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Tuesday, 20 August 2019
AmaZulu v Orlando Pirates, King Zwelithini Stadium 19:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Cape Town City, Lucas Moripe Stadium 19:30
Saturday, 24 August 2019
Golden Arrows v Chippa United, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15:00
Black Leopards v Highlands Park, Thohoyandou Stadium 15:00
Kaizer Chiefs v SuperSport United, FNB Stadium 18:00
Sunday, 25 August 2019
Stellenbosch v Maritzburg United, Athlone Stadium 15:00
Baroka FC v Bloemfontein Celtic, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.