Absa Premiership

Ajax stun Chiefs to win MTN8

2015-09-19 16:52
MTN 8 final

Cape Town - Ajax Cape Town were on Saturday crowned MTN8 champions when they beat Kaizer Chiefs 1-0 in the tournament final at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth.

The goal came midway through the second-half through a Nathan Paulse penalty after he had been brought down by Chiefs centre back Eric Mathoho.

The Urban Warriors started the first-half in fine fashion after Cecil Lolo's pin-point ball deliveries put Amakhosi on the back foot immediately.

Lolo created the first real threat in the eighth minute as he crossed the ball towards Paulse but the veteran's header sailed over the crossbar.

Minutes later Lolo was in the thick of things again crossing the ball from a free-kick towards Paulse, who opted to volley the ball but his effort hit the crossbar.

Abbubaker Mobara was next to threaten Chiefs' defence following a cross from Lolo but the defender's header was brilliantly saved by Itumeleng Khune.

Steve Komphela's side hoped things would change in the second stanza but Ajax came out the dressing room with the same attitude.

It was then in the 55th minute that Chiefs would start panicking as Mathoho brought down Paulse in the penalty area and the veteran forward made no mistake in slotting the spot-kick home.

Amakhosi tried to find their feet throughout the rest of the encounter but Ajax seemed determined to hold onto their one goal lead.

In the end the Urban Warriors defeated the defending champions 1-0, to claim the R8m prize.

Kaizer Chiefs: 0

Ajax Cape Town: 1 (Paulse 56’)

Kaizer Chiefs: Khune, Masilela, Xulu, Gaxa, Mathoho, Katsande, Tshabalala, Letsholonyane, Lebese (Maluleka 78’), Mthembu (Abraw 58’), Parker (Manqele 58’)

Ajax Cape Town: Jaakkola, Lolo, Lebusa, Coetzee, Losper, Norodien (Isaacs 73’), Mobara, Mdabuka, Mzawkali (Cale 81’), Graham (Scott 84’), Paulse


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 19 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Cape Town City FC, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 20 December 2017
Bloemfontein Celtic v SuperSport United, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Friday, 05 January 2018
Wits v Free State Stars, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Ajax Cape Town v Maritzburg United, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.