International

Messi given 1-match ban for Copa America red card

2019-07-24 17:07
Lionel Messi
Lionel Messi (Getty Images)

Asuncion - Argentina star Lionel Messi was hit with a one-game suspension by South American football bosses over his dismissal during the Copa America third-place play-off against Chile earlier this month.

However, CONMEBOL made no mention of Messi's "corruption" accusation against the regional governing body that he made after receiving his red card.

Messi was harshly dismissed in the first half of Argentina's 2-1 win over Chile after a clash with defender Gary Medel.

Television images suggested Messi did nothing wrong as Medel appeared to repeatedly try, unsuccessfully, to headbutt the Barcelona forward.

While most observers acknowledged that the Chile captain deserved to be sent off, Paraguayan referee Mario Diaz de Vivar controversially also gave Messi his marching orders.

CONMEBOL's disciplinary commission hit Messi with "an automatic one-match suspension," adding late on Tuesday that it could not be appealed by the Argentine Football Association (AFA).

It means the 32-year-old five-time Ballon d'Or winner will miss the first of Argentina's qualification matches for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, due to be played in March. He was also fined $1,500. 

"Corruption and the referees are preventing people from enjoying the football and they're ruining it a bit," Messi said after the Chile match.

Messi had also hit out at the organizers after Argentina's semi-final elimination against hosts Brazil in their previous match.

"Brazil were the hosts and they're managing a lot in CONMEBOL these days, which makes it complicated" for everyone else, Messi had said after his side were denied what appeared like two clear penalties in a 2-0 defeat.

The CONMEBOL commission made no mention, however, of Messi's comments, for which he was expected to face harsher punishment.

The announcement came after CONMEBOL, earlier on Tuesday, sanctioned AFA president Claudio Tapia for his blistering attack on Ecuadoran referee Roddy Zambrano, who had refused to consult VAR over the two Argentine penalty claims in their 2-0 defeat to Brazil.

Tapia had hit out at "serious and gross refereeing mistakes" while questioning whether "the principles of ethics, loyalty and transparency" had been observed during the match.

CONMEBOL stripped Tapia of his role as the regional body's representative on the FIFA executive committee.

Read more on:    copa america  |  lionel messi  |  soccer

 

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

 
 
Men
Women
Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

Featured

The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs
Vote

After Stuart Baxter stepped down as Bafana Bafana head coach, who would you like to see take over?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

 
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.