Euro 2020 seedings and groups

2019-11-29 07:38
Euro 2020
Euro 2020 (Getty Images)

Bucharest - The draw for Euro 2020 takes place on Saturday in Bucharest. The complex format of the 24-team tournament, which for the first time will be staged across 12 different nations, means certain teams already know which group they will be allocated to.

Here are the seedings and the draw as we know it so far, done so that qualified host nations are guaranteed to play games at home.


Pot 1: Belgium, Italy, England, Germany, Spain, Ukraine

Pot 2: France, Poland, Switzerland, Croatia, Netherlands, Russia

Pot 3: Portugal, Turkey, Denmark, Austria, Sweden, Czech Republic

Pot 4: Wales, Finland, plus the four play-off winners

- Seedings are based on performances in qualifying

- Play-offs are split into four separate paths and will be played in March, with the winner from each path qualifying for the finals

Path A: Bulgaria, Hungary, Iceland, Romania

Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Ireland, Slovakia, Republic of Ireland

Path C: Norway, Serbia, Scotland, Israel

Path D: Georgia, Belarus, North Macedonia, Kosovo

Group line-up so far

Group A: Italy (home games in Rome), Pot 2 team, Pot 3 team, Wales or Finland

Group B: Belgium, Russia (Saint Petersburg), Denmark (Copenhagen), Finland or Wales

Group C: Ukraine, Netherlands (Amsterdam), Pot 3 team, Winner of play-off path D or Romania should they qualify (home games in Bucharest)

Group D: England (London), Pot 2 team, Pot 3 team, Winner of play-off Path C

Group E: Spain (Bilbao), Pot 2 team, Pot 3 team, Winner of play-off Path B

Group F: Germany (Munich), Pot 2 team, Pot 3 team, Winner of play-off Path A or Path D (if Romania win Path A)

- Play-off paths have been allocated groups to ensure host nations will play at home should they qualify

- Ukraine, from Pot 1, have been placed in Group C to ensure they are kept apart from Russia for diplomatic and security reasons, so Belgium automatically go into Group B.

Read more on:    euro 2020  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

After Stuart Baxter stepped down as Bafana Bafana head coach, who would you like to see take over?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.