BBC to announce 5 finalists for African Footballer of the Year

2018-11-14 08:02
Mohamed Salah (Twitter)

Cape Town - Following the highs and lows of this year’s World Cup, football fans across the globe will be able to vote for their favourite African Footballer of the Year, as the show launches from Lagos on November 17.

Every year, the BBC celebrates Africa's finest footballers with a prestigious award. Last year, it was the incomparable Mohammed Salah who took home the trophy. His predecessors include some of Africa’s finest footballers, such as Riyadh Mahrez, Yaya Toure, Didier Drogba and Jay-Jay Okocha. But, who will join this illustrious line-up and succeed Mohammed Salah?

Winning last year’s award, Salah said: "It’s always a special feeling when you win something. You feel like you did a great year, so I’m very happy. I would also like to win it next year!”

The five shortlisted players will be unveiled in a special BBC African Footballer of the Year programme from Lagos and London at 20:00 SA time on November 17.

Television viewers can watch the special programme on BBC World News television (DStv 400), whilst radio listeners can catch the events as they unfold on BBC World Service radio.

Hosts Isaac Fanin and Mimi Fawaz will be joined by special guests including former Nigerian international Peter Odemwingie, Egypt and Stoke star Sarah Essam, and a man who captained the Democratic Republic of Congo for many years, Gabriel Zakuani.

To vote and keep up-to-date with all the latest BBC African Footballer of the Year news, fans can visit the website BBC Sport/African Football  and search #BBCAFOTY on social media.

Voting will open at 21:00 SA time on November 17 and close on Sunday 2nd December at 22:00.

The winner will be revealed live during on BBC World News and BBC World Service on Friday December 14.

Read more on:    mohamed salah  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Assuming the 2019/20 Absa Premiership season can't be concluded prior to the 31 July deadline decreed by FIFA, what would be the fairest way to settle matters - all bias aside?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.