Argentina and Colombia to host 2020 Copa America

2019-04-09 20:26

Rio de Janeiro - The Copa America will be held in Argentina and Colombia, CONMEBOL announced on Tuesday, marking the first time in the tournament's modern era that it will be split between two countries.

South American football's governing body said in a statement that the competition's structure would also be rejigged, with two groups of six instead of the current format of three groups of four being used for this year's edition in Brazil.

The top four of each group will qualify for the quarter-finals.

"The new format provides a total of 38 games and gives fans the opportunity to attend at least five matches in a neighbouring country," the CONMEBOL statement said.

After the 2020 edition, the Copa America will be held every four years in order to have it played the same year as UEFA's European Championship.

The announcement puts an official end to the United States Soccer Federation's proposal to stage the 2020 Copa America in the USA, in an expanded 16-team competition that would also include six teams from the CONCACAF region.

The event was modelled along the lines of the successful 2016 Copa America Centenario held across the USA.

Read more on:    copa america  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will emerge victorious in this season's Champions League?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.