Africa’s best honoured

2018-01-07 06:37
VICTORIOUS: CAF nominee Thembi Kgatlana and SA Football Association head Danny Jordaan hold the CAF women’s national team of the year award won by Banyana Banyana. (Supplied)

Johannesburg - Mohamed Salah capped a great year for ­Egyptian football by clinching the Aiteo 2017 CAF player of the year award on Thursday.

Not only were the Egyptian team the runners-up to Cameroon in the Africa Cup of ­Nations, held in Gabon early last year, they also qualified for their first World Cup in 28 years.

Egypt dominated the CAF Awards, held in Accra, Ghana, with three trophies.

Héctor Cúper received the coach of the year accolade, while the Pharaohs were crowned national team of the year.

Five goals

Salah (25) fended off opposition from his ­Liverpool team-mate, Sadio Mané of Senegal, as well as Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick ­Aubameyang – who won in 2015 – to become the first Egyptian to win the most prestigious individual honour in African football.

He has had a phenomenal start to his spell at Liverpool since joining from AS Roma.

He completed his first half of the season with 17 goals in 21 Premier League games, and 23 goals in 29 games so far in all competitions for ­Liverpool.

He also proved a key player in the World Cup qualifiers for Egypt, having scored five goals in six games.

South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana lost out to Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala, who won the women’s player of the year award for the third time, ­having clinched the trophy in 2014 and 2016.

All the award winners

African player of the year

Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)

Women’s player of the year 

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Dalian Quanjian)

Youth player of the year

Patson Daka (Zambia and FC Liefering)

Coach of the year

Héctor Cúper (Egypt)

Club of the year

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

National team of the year


Women’s national team of the year

South Africa (Banyana Banyana)

Legend Award

Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)

Platinum awards

. Nana Akufo-Addo, president of Ghana

. George Weah, president-elect of Liberia and former world, Africa and European player of the year

But Kgatlana did not leave Accra empty-handed: Banyana Banyana were declared the women’s national team of the year, capping a good year after their victory at the Cosafa ­Women’s Championship in September.

However, the awards were not without ­controversy.

Two of the African best player nominees, ­Aubameyang and Mané, did not make it onto CAF’s top 11 short list, yet were among the top three on the continent.

And CAF scrapped its Africa-based player of the year award, which was won by Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Denis ­Onyango in 2016.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will emerge victorious in this season's Champions League?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.