Toure the man to beat for CAF award

2015-10-12 10:13
Yaya Toure (AFP)

Cape Town - Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure has once again been named on the shortlist for the CAF African Player of the Year award.

The African continent's football governing body released it's 37-man shortlist on Sunday where Ivory Coast have four players in line for the prestigious award.

Toure, who won the award last year to complete a record-breaking four wins in a row, joins national team-mates Gervinho, Max Gradel and Serge Aurier as nominees.

The Manchester City star will face competition for the award from the likes of Andre Ayew (Swansea City, Ghana), Sadio Mané (Southampton, Senegal), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Gabon) and Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, Algeria).

The 37-man shortlist:

Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Nigeria), Andre Ayew (Swansea City, Ghana), Aymen Abdennour (Valencia,Tunisia), Baghdad Bonjah (Étoile du Sahel, Algeria), Bassem Morsi (Zamalek, Egypt), Chrisitian Atsu (Bournemouth, Ghana), Dieu Merci Mbokani (Norwich, D.R Congo), El Arbi Hillel Soudani (Dynamo Zagreb, Algeria), Faouzi Ghoulam (Napoli, Algeria), Férébory Doré (Angers, Congo), Gervais Yao Kouassi ( AS Roma, Cote d’Ivoire), Ibrahima Traoré (Borussia Mönchengladbach, Guinea), Javier Balboa (Al-Faisaly, Equatorial Guinea), Héldon Ramos (Rio Ave, Cape Verde), Mame Diouf (Stoke City, Senegal), Max Alain Gradel (Bournemouth, Cote d’Ivoire), Mehdi Benatia (Bayern Munich, Morocco), Modather Al Tayeb (Al Hilal, Sudan), Mohamed Salah (AS Roma, Egypt), Nicolas Nkoulou (Marseille, Cameroon), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Gabon), Robert Kidiaba (T.P Mazembe, D.R Congo), Rudy Gestede (Aston Villa, Benin), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, Algeria), Sadio Mané (Southampton, Senegal), Serge Aurier  (Paris Saint Germain, Côte d’Ivoire), Seydou Keita (AS Roma, Mali), Sofiane Feghouli (Valencia, Algeria), Stéphane Mbia (Trabzonspor, Cameroon), Thievy Bifouma (Granada, Congo), Victor Wanyama (Southampton, Kenya), Vincent Aboubakar (FC Porto, Cameroon), Vincent Enyeama (Lille, Nigeria), Yacine Brahimi (FC Porto, Algeria), Yannick Bolasie (Crystal Palace, DR Congo), Yasine Chikhaoui (Al-Gharafa, Tunisia) and Yaya Toure (Man City, Cote d’Ivoire)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.