CAF names player of year list

2013-11-15 20:37
Yaya Toure (AFP Photo)

Paris - The African Football Confederation (CAF) on Friday unveiled a 25-man shortlist for the prize of African Footballer of the Year for 2013, with Yaya Toure and Didier Drogba the leading names.

Manchester City midfielder Toure has won the award in each of the last two years and winning it for a third consecutive year would see him match the achievement of Samuel Eto'o, winner in 2003, 2004 and 2005.

Eto'o, now of Chelsea, has won the award four times overall but is not nominated this time.

Two-time winner Drogba, now of Galatasaray, and Gervinho of Roma are the other candidates from the Ivory Coast, while there are five Nigerians in contention, all members of the side that won the Africa Cup of Nations in South Africa at the start of the year.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in Lagos, Nigeria, on July 9.

Nominees for African Footballer of the Year award:

Ahmed Musa (NGR/CSKA Moscow/RUS), Asamoah Gyan (GHA/Al Ain/UAE), Dame N'Doye (SEN/Lokomotiv Moscow/RUS), Didier Drogba (CIV/Galatasaray/TUR), Emmanuel Emenike (NGR/Fenerbahce/TUR), Islam Slimani (ALG/Sporting Lisbon/POR), John Obi Mikel (NGR/Chelsea/ENG), Jonathan Pitroipa (BUR/Rennes/FRA), Kevin Constant (GUI/AC Milan/ITA), Kwadwo Asamoah (GHA/Juventus/ITA), Luis Carlos Almada Soares 'Platini' (CPV/Omonia Nicosia/CYP), Mehdi Benatia (MAR/Roma/ITA), Mohamed Abou Trika (EGY/Al Ahly/EGY), Mohamed Salah (EGY/Basel/SUI), Nicolas Nkoulou (CAM/Marseille/FRA), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB/Borussia Dortmund/GER), Ryan Mendes (CPV/Lille/FRA), Saladin Said (ETH/Wadi Degla/EGY), Seydou Keita (MAL/Dalian Aerbin/CHN), Sofiane Feghouli (ALG/Valencia/ESP), Sunday Mba (NGR/Warri Wolves/NGR), Victor Wanyama (KEN/Southampton/ENG), Vincent Enyeama (NGR/Lille/FRA), Gervinho (CIV/Roma/ITA), Yaya Toure (CIV/Manchester City/ENG)

Read more on:    caf  |  didier drogba  |  yaya toure  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.