5 games that won Barca the title

2015-05-18 10:06
Lionel Messi (AFP)

Madrid - Barcelona sealed their 23rd La Liga title on Sunday thanks to Lionel Messi's winner in a 1-0 victory at Atletico Madrid.

Here are the FIVE key games that delivered the Catalans the title:

1. Almeria 1 Barcelona 2 (November 8, 2014)

Fresh from back-to-back league defeats against Real Madrid and Celta Vigo, Barca were facing an embarrassing reverse to relegation-threatened Almeria as they trailed 1-0 with 17 minutes remaining.

However, Luis Suarez made his first significant contribution in a Barca shirt as he came off the bench to set up goals for Neymar and Jordi Alba to get Luis Enrique's men back on track.

2. Valencia 0 Barcelona 1 (November 30, 2014)

The Mestalla has been one of the toughest places to go in European football this season with Valencia losing just once at home in the whole campaign.

Real Madrid, Atletico and Sevilla all lost away there, but after riding their luck throughout the 90 minutes, Sergio Busquets sealed a vital three points with virtually the last kick of the game deep into stoppage time.

3. Barcelona 3 Atletico Madrid 1 (January 11, 2015)

The champions visited the Camp Nou with Barca in full blown institutional crisis. Defeat at Real Sociedad a week earlier had provoked the sacking of sporting director Andoni Zubizarreta, club legend Carles Puyol followed him and Luis Enrique was said to be one game away from the sack as his relationship with Messi was in tatters.

The 90 minutes that followed turned Barca's season around as Messi, Suarez and Neymar all scored for the first time in a league game with Messi and Suarez switching positions to what has proved to be devastating effect over the last five months.

4. Barcelona 2 Real Madrid 1 (March 22, 2015)

Barca went into the final Clasico of the season in pole position and in much better form. However, they had to withstand an onslaught from Madrid for the first hour as Cristiano Ronaldo cancelled out Jeremy Mathieu's early opener.

Suarez once again proved decisive with a stunning finish that moved Barca four points clear at the top, a lead which they never surrendered.

5. Atletico Madrid 0 Barcelona 1 (May 17, 2015)

A year to the day since Atletico won a title decider at the Camp Nou, Barca exacted revenge and fittingly it was Messi who scored the title winning goal to seal the first trophy of a potential treble this season.

Read more on:    barcelona  |  la liga  |  neymar  |  luis suarez  |  lionel messi  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.