English Premiership

Premier League sees record managerial changes

2018-05-18 18:41
Sam Allardyce (AP)

London - Carlos Carvalhal and Paul Lambert's departures from their clubs on Friday mean there have now been a Premier League-record 15 managerial changes this season.

Swansea announced they would not renew Carvalhal's expiring contract and Stoke, also relegated, quickly followed suit by parting company with Lambert.

The pair followed Sam Allardyce (Everton) and David Moyes (West Ham) in leaving their roles in the week between the end of the league season and Saturday's FA Cup final.

Add in 10 changes during the league season and Arsene Wenger's pre-announced departure from Arsenal after their final game against Huddersfield, and this season has now surpassed the previous record of 13 changes.

Defining a season as the period from August 1 one year to May 31 the next, the previous mark was set in 2013/14 after a similar end-of-season flurry.

A list of Premier League managers who have left their jobs in the 2017/18 season:

Frank De Boer (Crystal Palace) - Sacked on September 11, 2017

Craig Shakespeare (Leicester) - Sacked on October 17, 2017

Ronald Koeman (Everton) - Sacked on October 23, 2017

Slaven Bilic (West Ham) - Sacked on November 6, 2017

Tony Pulis (West Brom) - Sacked on November 20, 2017

Paul Clement (Swansea) - Sacked on December 20, 2017

Mark Hughes (Stoke) - Sacked on January 6, 2018

Marco Silva (Watford) - Sacked on January 21, 2018

Mauricio Pellegrino (Southampton) - Sacked on March 12, 2018

Alan Pardew (West Brom) - Sacked on April 2, 2018

Sam Allardyce (Everton) - Sacked on May 16, 2018

David Moyes (West Ham) - Left on May 16, 2018

Carlos Carvalhal (Swansea) - Left on May 18, 2018

Paul Lambert (Stoke) - Left on May 18, 2018

Arsene Wenger (Arsenal) - Left at end of the season

Read more on:    english premiership  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Saturday, 23 November 2019
West Ham United v Tottenham Hotspur, London Stadium 14:30
Arsenal v Southampton, Emirates Stadium 17:00
Everton v Norwich City, Goodison Park 17:00
Crystal Palace v Liverpool, Selhurst Park 17:00
Brighton & Hove Albion v Leicester City, The American Express Community Stadium 17:00
Watford v Burnley, Vicarage Road 17:00
AFC Bournemouth v Wolverhampton Wanderers, Vitality Stadium 17:00
Manchester City v Chelsea, Etihad Stadium 19:30
Sunday, 24 November 2019
Sheffield United v Manchester United, Bramall Lane 18:30
Monday, 25 November 2019
Aston Villa v Newcastle United, Villa Park 22:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 English Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.