English Premiership

PFA name EPL Team of the Year

2016-04-22 08:20
Jamie Vardy and Harry Kane (TEAMtalk)

Cape Town - The Professional Footballers' Association has named it's Premier League Team of the Year, with Leicester City and Tottenham heavily represented.

Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea has cracked the nod in goal, while Arsenal full-back Hector Bellerin is the London club's only representative in the side.

Mesut Ozil, one of the six nominations for the PFA Player of the Year award has surprisingly missed out on the team.

The second-placed Spurs boast four players in the team; Danny Rose, Toby Alderweireld, Dele Alli and Harry Kane.

League leaders Leicester city, meanwhile, also have players in the team in the shape of Wes Morgan, N'Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy.

West Ham free-kick specialist Dimitri Payet has seemingly nipped ahead of Arsenal's Ozil to complete the Team of the Year.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year:

David De Gea (Manchester United)
Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur)
Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur)
Wes Morgan (Leicester City)
Hector Bellerin (Arsenal)
Dimitri Payet (West Ham United)
N'Golo Kante (Leicester City)
Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)
Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)
Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)

Read more on:    english premiership  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 29 January 2019
Fulham v Brighton & Hove Albion, Craven Cottage 21:45
Arsenal v Cardiff City, Emirates Stadium 21:45
Wolverhampton Wanderers v West Ham United, Molineux Stadium 21:45
Huddersfield Town v Everton, The John Smith's Stadium 21:45
Manchester United v Burnley, Old Trafford 22:00
Newcastle United v Manchester City, St. James' Park 22:00
Wednesday, 30 January 2019
Southampton v Crystal Palace, St. Mary's Stadium 21:45
AFC Bournemouth v Chelsea, Vitality Stadium 21:45
Liverpool v Leicester City, Anfield 22:00
Tottenham Hotspur v Watford, Tottenham Hotspur Stadium 22:00
Saturday, 02 February 2019
Tottenham Hotspur v Newcastle United, Tottenham Hotspur Stadium 14:30
Everton v Wolverhampton Wanderers, Goodison Park 17:00
Crystal Palace v Fulham, Selhurst Park 17:00
Chelsea v Huddersfield Town, Stamford Bridge 17:00
Brighton & Hove Albion v Watford, The American Express Community Stadium 17:00
Burnley v Southampton, Turf Moor 17:00
Cardiff City v AFC Bournemouth, Cardiff City Stadium 19:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will claim the Premier League title at the end of the 2018/19 season?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.