English Premiership

Five Leicester players nominated for award

2016-05-12 12:40
Jamie Vardy (Getty)

Cape Town - The 10 nominees for the Barclays Premier League Player of the Season award have been announced, with Leicester City's stars accounting for half.

It's no surprise that five of the nominees come from the unexpected Champions. Football Writers' Footballer of the Year Jamie Vardy and PFA Player of the Year Riyad Mahrez are joined by midfielder N'Golo Kante, goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel and captain Wes Morgan on the shortlist.

West Ham's Dimitri Payet is also included after the French attacking midfielder has enjoyed a brilliant first season in England, guiding West Ham to a european-placed finish.

Mesut Ozil of Arsenal also gets the nod. The German playmaker, who was surprisingly left out of the PFA Team of the Season, has 18 league assists to his name for the Gunners.

The remaining three spots go to players of runners-up Tottenham. Current topscorer (25 goals) Harry Kane is joined by PFA Young Player of the Year Dele Alli and Belgian defender Toby Alderweireld.

The winner, announced on Friday, will be chosen by a panel featuring administrators, fans and members of the media.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Friday, 22 February 2019
Cardiff City v Watford, Cardiff City Stadium 21:45
West Ham United v Fulham, London Stadium 21:45
Saturday, 23 February 2019
Burnley v Tottenham Hotspur, Turf Moor 14:30
Newcastle United v Huddersfield Town, St. James' Park 17:00
AFC Bournemouth v Wolverhampton Wanderers, Vitality Stadium 17:00
Leicester City v Crystal Palace, King Power Stadium 19:30
Sunday, 24 February 2019
Chelsea v Brighton & Hove Albion, Stamford Bridge 14:00
Arsenal v Southampton, Emirates Stadium 16:05
Manchester United v Liverpool, Old Trafford 16:05
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will claim the Premier League title at the end of the 2018/19 season?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.