English Premiership

Defoe grabs Player of the Year award

2016-12-21 16:58
Jermain Defoe (TEAMtalk)

Cape Town - Jermain Defoe has thanked Sunderland fans for their support, after winning the North East Football Writers’ Player of the Year award.

The 34-year-old striker was the unanimous winner, ahead of Ben Gibson and Jamaal Lascelles, after bagging 19 goals for the Black Cats in 2016 to help keep them in the Premier League.

The former Tottenham Hotspur star was honoured to claim the award and dedicated it to the Sunderland fans.

"I feel very much at home in the North East, so to win this award is a real honour," said Defoe, according to the Sunderland Echo.

"The fans here are very knowledgeable and so passionate - football is their life and that makes it a great place for any player to play football.

"I would like to thank the North East Football Writers for voting for me and the Sunderland fans for their amazing support, they have been behind me from day one and I dedicate this award to them.

"Sunderland is a very special club that I know will be part of me forever."

David Moyes' team will be without Adnan Januzaj who cannot play against his parent-club when they travel to Old Trafford to take on Manchester United on Monday.

The former United coach will be forced to again change his team by replacing the 21-year-old midfielder who has shown glimpses of his talent in the last two fixtures.

Kick off is at 17:00.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Saturday, 19 October 2019
Everton v West Ham United, Goodison Park 13:30
Leicester City v Burnley, King Power Stadium 16:00
Wolverhampton Wanderers v Southampton, Molineux Stadium 16:00
Chelsea v Newcastle United, Stamford Bridge 16:00
Tottenham Hotspur v Watford, Tottenham Hotspur Stadium 16:00
Aston Villa v Brighton & Hove Albion, Villa Park 16:00
AFC Bournemouth v Norwich City, Vitality Stadium 16:00
Crystal Palace v Manchester City, Selhurst Park 18:30
Sunday, 20 October 2019
Manchester United v Liverpool, Old Trafford 17:30
Monday, 21 October 2019
Sheffield United v Arsenal, Bramall Lane 21:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 English Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.