Cape Town - Slaven Bilic believes Diego Costa should have been given his marching orders during West Ham United's 2-1 defeat against Chelsea.
The Hammers came close to nicking a point off the Blues in their opening game of the Premier League season at Stamford Bridge on Monday evening, but Costa scored the winning goal in the 89th minute after James Collins had cancelled out Eden Hazard’s penalty.
However, many believe the Spain international, who was booked in the 19th minute for dissent, should not have been on the field following a late challenge on goalkeeper Adrian in the 67th minute.
Referee Anthony Taylor, though, decided to keep his card in his pocket.
West Ham manager Bilic admits Costa's challenge wasn't deliberate, but still believes he should have been given a second yellow card.
"He had already been booked and it wasn't reckless and I don't think that it was deliberate but it was quite late, the ball was already gone and he could have, or should have, been booked again, which would mean a red card," Bilic told Sky Sports.
"But I'm not frustrated because of that, I'm frustrated because we conceded a very late goal and that's what makes me sad."
He later added: "I saw that incident again, I don't think it was reckless. It was from my point of view not deliberate, but it was very late.
"Nine times out of 10 you see that challenge and get one [a yellow card] - unfortunately this was the 10th time."