English Premiership

Spurs face Gunners for fourth round spot

2015-08-26 10:14
Erik Lamela (Supplied)

London - Arsenal must travel to last season's League Cup runners-up Tottenham Hotspur after the draw for the third round made on Tuesday threw up several mouth-watering local derbies.

The London rivals have met three times in the competition in the last 10 years with Arsenal winning a two-legged 2007 semi-final and Spurs triumphing at the same stage the next season. Arsenal won after extra time in the third round in 2010.

Another enticing derby sees five-time champions Aston Villa facing second-tier Birmingham City in a second city derby.

Holders and premier League champions Chelsea, who beat four-times winners Spurs 2-0 at Wembley in last season's final, start the defence of their trophy with a trip to third-tier Walsall.

As well as the north London derby, other all Premier-League ties see Sunderland hosting leaders Manchester City, Norwich City welcoming West Bromwich Albion and Leicester City entertaining West Ham United.

Record eight-times winners Liverpool will play basement division side Carlisle United at Anfield, while Manchester United take on second-tier Ipswich Town at Old Trafford.

Ties will be played during the week of September 21.

Third round draw:

Aston Villa v Birmingham

Crystal Palace v Charlton

Fulham v Stoke

Hull v Swansea

Leicester v West Ham

Liverpool v Carlisle

Manchester United v Ipswich

MK Dons v Southampton

Newcastle v Sheffield Wednesday

Norwich v West Brom

Preston v Bournemouth

Reading v Barnsley or Everton (who play Wednesday)

Sunderland v Manchester City

Tottenham v Arsenal

Walsall v Chelsea


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Saturday, 23 November 2019
West Ham United v Tottenham Hotspur, London Stadium 14:30
Arsenal v Southampton, Emirates Stadium 17:00
Everton v Norwich City, Goodison Park 17:00
Crystal Palace v Liverpool, Selhurst Park 17:00
Brighton & Hove Albion v Leicester City, The American Express Community Stadium 17:00
Watford v Burnley, Vicarage Road 17:00
AFC Bournemouth v Wolverhampton Wanderers, Vitality Stadium 17:00
Manchester City v Chelsea, Etihad Stadium 19:30
Sunday, 24 November 2019
Sheffield United v Manchester United, Bramall Lane 18:30
Monday, 25 November 2019
Aston Villa v Newcastle United, Villa Park 22:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 English Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.