English Premiership

SEVEN stars who Fergie failed to sign

2015-09-22 12:21
Alex Ferguson (AFP)

Cape Town - Sir Alex Ferguson is revealing all in his new book, here are seven star players the experienced manager failed to sign for Manchester United.

In his new book "Leading,", the former Manchester United manager reveals the several stars who he attempted to sign but ultimately failed to arrive at Old Trafford.

The SEVEN that got away:

1. Ronaldo 

Reason: Manchester United could not get a work permit for the Brazil star in 1994. 

Club joined: PSV 

2. Thomas Muller

Reason: Scouted at age 10, Bayern signed him the day after he was watched by United scouts.

Club joined: Bayern Munich

3. Didier Drogba

Reason: Beaten to his signature by Chelsea as the club took too long to decide if he was the right fit at £25m.

Club joined: Chelsea

4. Lucas Moura

Reason: Outbid by French giants Paris Saint-Germain - United offered £10m less than the Ligue 1 side.

Club joined: PSG

5. Sergio Aguero

Reason: Fee too high

Club joined: Manchester City

6. Petr Cech

Reason: In 2003, Ferguson thought Cech was too young and not yet ready to cope with the demands of the Premier League.

Club joined: Chelsea

7. Raphael Varane

Reason: Real Madrid ambassador Zinedine Zidane beat the Red Devils to signing the French defender in 2011.

Club joined: Real Madrid


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Saturday, 23 November 2019
West Ham United v Tottenham Hotspur, London Stadium 14:30
Arsenal v Southampton, Emirates Stadium 17:00
Everton v Norwich City, Goodison Park 17:00
Crystal Palace v Liverpool, Selhurst Park 17:00
Brighton & Hove Albion v Leicester City, The American Express Community Stadium 17:00
Watford v Burnley, Vicarage Road 17:00
AFC Bournemouth v Wolverhampton Wanderers, Vitality Stadium 17:00
Manchester City v Chelsea, Etihad Stadium 19:30
Sunday, 24 November 2019
Sheffield United v Manchester United, Bramall Lane 18:30
Monday, 25 November 2019
Aston Villa v Newcastle United, Villa Park 22:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 English Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.