English Premiership

Rooney moves closer to EPL history

2015-10-19 15:02
Wayne Rooney (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Manchester United forward Wayne Rooney has another milestone in his sights - the Premier League's goalscoring record.

Rooney, who scored his side's third goal in a 3-0 win over his former club Everton on Saturday, is now joint second on the all-time scoring list with 187 goals.

The 29-year-old forward netted his first away goal since November 2014 (17 games) and his first at Goodison Park since April 2007 to move alongside former Manchester United star Andy Cole in the history books of the Premier League.

Rooney will have his work cut out if he wants to become the league's all-time record goal-scorer, an honour that is currently held by Alan Shearer. Shearer scored 260 league goals during his time playing in the league for Blackburn Rovers and Newcastle United.

Rooney left Everton to join Manchester United in 2004 and has gone on to become England's all-time leading goalscorer after finally displacing Sir Bobby Charlton as the leading scorer for the Three Lions in September.

Top 10 Premier League goalscorers:

1. Alan Shearer - 260

T2. Andy Cole, Wayne Rooney - 187

4. Frank Lampard - 177

5. Thierry Henry - 175

6. Robbie Fowler - 163

7. Michael Owen - 150

8. Les Ferdinand  - 149

9. Teddy Sheringham - 146

10. Robin van Persie - 144

Follow Sport24's Wade Pretorius on Twitter: @wadepretorius


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Sunday, 08 December 2019
Norwich City v Sheffield United, Carrow Road 16:00
Newcastle United v Southampton, St. James' Park 16:00
Aston Villa v Leicester City, Villa Park 16:00
Brighton & Hove Albion v Wolverhampton Wanderers, The American Express Community Stadium 18:30
Monday, 09 December 2019
West Ham United v Arsenal, London Stadium 22:00
Saturday, 14 December 2019
Liverpool v Watford, Anfield 14:30
Sheffield United v Aston Villa, Bramall Lane 17:00
Leicester City v Norwich City, King Power Stadium 17:00
Chelsea v AFC Bournemouth, Stamford Bridge 17:00
Burnley v Newcastle United, Turf Moor 17:00
Southampton v West Ham United, St. Mary's Stadium 19:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 English Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.