English Premiership

5 EPL contenders for Ballon d'Or award

2015-10-20 08:45
Eden Hazard (AFP)

Cape Town - Manchester City have three players in contention to win the 2015 Ballon d'Or award, more than any other Premier League club.

Sergio Aguero, Yaya Toure and summer recruit Kevin De Bruyne were confirmed as contenders for the award when FIFA released the shortlist on Tuesday.

Yaya Toure is the only non-European or South American on the list and is looking to add the Ballon d'Or award to his four CAF Player of the Year awards.

Joining the Ivorian on the list is Argentine striker Sergio Aguero. Aguero scored 32 goals in 42 appearances for City in all competitions last season.

Chelsea's Eden Hazard has arguably the best chance to rival Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

Hazard scored 14 goals in 38 38 Premier League appearances as Chelsea stormed to their first league win since the 2009/10 season. Hazard was also named the PFA Player of the Year.

Alexis Sanchez, a £35 million signing from Barcelona in July 2014, made the cut after a brilliant year personally for the Chilean star - which included winning the Copa America on home soil as well as scoring 25 goals in all competition for Arsenal in his debut season.

Manchester United and Liverpool have no players on the list.

The winner will be announced on January 11.

Premier League contenders for the Ballon d'Or:

Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City)

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City)

Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea)

Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal)

Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast/Manchester City)

Click HERE for the full Ballon d'Or shortlist

Follow Sport24's Wade Pretorius on Twitter: @wadepretorius


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Saturday, 20 January 2018
Brighton & Hove Albion v Chelsea, The American Express Community Stadium 14:30
Stoke City v Huddersfield Town, Bet365 Stadium 17:00
Arsenal v Crystal Palace, Emirates Stadium 17:00
Everton v West Bromwich Albion, Goodison Park 17:00
Leicester City v Watford, King Power Stadium 17:00
West Ham United v AFC Bournemouth, London Stadium 17:00
Burnley v Manchester United, Turf Moor 17:00
Manchester City v Newcastle United, Etihad Stadium 19:30
Sunday, 21 January 2018
Southampton v Tottenham Hotspur, St. Mary's Stadium 18:00
Monday, 22 January 2018
Swansea City v Liverpool, Liberty Stadium 22:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will claim the Premier League title at the end of the 2017/18 season?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.