English Premiership

135 penalties - and it's not Manchester United!

2015-12-02 14:30
Sir Alex Ferguson (AFP Photo)

Cape Town - Manchester United are placed third when it comes to teams awarded the most penalties in the history of the English Premiership. But who is in first?

The Red Devils would be everyone’s logical first guess having watched them dominate the Premier League under Sir Alex Ferguson.

However, all that 'Fergie Time' allocated over the years has not been enough to see them top of the list as United are 14 penalties shy of the team with the most penalties awarded.

According to the Daily Mirror, Liverpool have been handed the most penalties (135), with Arsenal in second (126).

Jose Mourinho's Chelsea are placed in fourth (116) while Newcastle United are fifth on the list (111).

Everton (104) and Tottenham Hotspur (101) follow the Magpies on the list while Aston Villa (96), Manchester City (83) and Championship side Blackburn Rovers (83) complete the top 10.

Most Premier League penalties taken

1. Liverpool - 135

2. Arsenal - 126

3. Manchester United - 121

4. Chelsea - 116

5. Newcastle United – 111

6. Everton - 104

7. Tottenham Hotspur - 101

8. Aston Villa - 96

T9. Manchester City - 83

T9. Blackburn Rovers - 83

Read more on:    manchester united  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Wednesday, 29 January 2020
West Ham United v Liverpool, London Stadium 21:45
Saturday, 01 February 2020
Leicester City v Chelsea, King Power Stadium 14:30
Liverpool v Southampton, Anfield 17:00
West Ham United v Brighton & Hove Albion, London Stadium 17:00
Crystal Palace v Sheffield United, Selhurst Park 17:00
Newcastle United v Norwich City, St. James' Park 17:00
Watford v Everton, Vicarage Road 17:00
AFC Bournemouth v Aston Villa, Vitality Stadium 17:00
Manchester United v Wolverhampton Wanderers, Old Trafford 19:30
Sunday, 02 February 2020
Burnley v Arsenal, Turf Moor 16:00
Tottenham Hotspur v Manchester City, Tottenham Hotspur Stadium 18:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 English Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.