Bafana Bafana

Shakes names Bafana squad to face Gambia

2016-05-19 21:05
Shakes Mashaba (Supplied)

Cape Town - Bafana Bafana coach Ephraim ‘Shakes’ Mashaba has named a 23-man squad that will play Gambia in the penultimate CAF Africa Cup of Nations Gabon 2017 qualifiers.

This qualifier will also see the return of SuperSport United midfielder Dean Furman to the Bafana fold.

The two nations will lock horns on Saturday, June 4, 2016 at the Independence Stadium in Bakau, Gambia. Kick-off is at 19:00 SA time.

Mashaba will travel with 18 players to Gambia. The first match between South Africa and Gambia ended in a goalless draw in Durban.

Bafana Bafana currently lie third on the table with three points after four matches. Cameroon lead the pack on 8 points, one more than second-placed Mauritania while Gambia have two points.

“The truth of the matter is we are in a difficult situation, but we have to keep our hopes alive. We have said before that the first two matches (against Gambia and Mauritania) took us off track. Had we done well in those matches, we would be talking a different story today. But we must soldier on and get the remaining six points, then wait and see,” said Mashaba.

Bafana Bafana will start camp on Sunday, May 29. They depart for Gambia on Tuesday, May 31 2016.

South Africa will host Mauritania in the last match of the qualifiers in September.

The winner of each of the 13 groups will progress to the 16-nation AFCON finals, along with two best-placed runners-up and hosts Gabon.

Bafana Bafana squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Jackson Mabokgwane (Mpumalanga Black Aces), Brighton Mhlongo (Orlando Pirates)

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Mamelodi Sundowns), Diamond Thopola (Chippa United), Thabo Matlaba Matlaba (Orlando Pirates), Eric Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Sifiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits), Rivaldo Coetzee (Ajax Cape Town), Teboho Langerman (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Midfielders: Andile Jali (KV Oostende), Thulani Serero (Ajax Amsterdam), Thapelo Morena (Bloemfontein Celtic), Mpho Makola (Orlando Pirates), Mandla Masango (Randers FX), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Keagan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns), Dean Furman (SuperSport United), May Mahlangu (Sint-Truidense)

Strikers: Thamsanqa Gabuza (Orlando Pirates), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits), Ndumiso Mabena (Platinum Stars), Thobani Mncwango (Polokwane City)

Read more on:    bafana bafana  |  shakes mashaba  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.