Bafana Bafana

Baxter names Bafana starting XI for Nigeria

2017-06-10 07:16
Stuart Baxter (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has named his starting line-up to take on the Super Eagles of Nigeria in Saturday's much-anticipated 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in Uyo.

Regular goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune mans the post while the back four will consist of Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Tebogo Langerman, Erick Mathoho and captain Thulani Hlatshwayo.

The midfield will be made up of Dean Furman, Bongani Zungu, Themba Zwane and Keagan Dolly while Sibusiso Vilakazi and Tokelo Rantie will spearhead the attack.

Baxter said striker Kermit Erasmus has been ruled out of the game through a recurring injury.

Kick-off is at 18:00.

Bafana Bafana:

Itumeleng Khune, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Tebogo Langerman, Erick Mathoho, Thulani Hlatshwayo (captain), Dean Furman, Bongani Zungu, Themba Zwane, Keagan Dolly, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Tokelo Rantie.

Substitutes: Darren Keet, Andile Jali, Percy Tau, Tiyani Mabunda, Lorenzo Gordinho, Lebogang Manyama, Abubbaker Mobara.

Read more on:    bafana bafana  |  afcon 2019  |  stuart baxter  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy


After Stuart Baxter stepped down as Bafana Bafana head coach, who would you like to see take over?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.