Bafana Bafana

Bafana name side for Guinea-Bissau friendly

2017-03-25 11:13
Owen Da Gama (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Stand-in Bafana Bafana head coach Owen da Gama has announced his starting line-up to face Guinea-Bissau in an international friendly on Saturday.

The two nations lock horns at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban at 15:00.

Da Gama has made several changes to the squad that played against Senegal in the 2018 Soccer World Cup qualifier played in Polokwane last year in November.

Only five players who featured in that match will get a start against Guinea-Bissau - Itumeleng Khune, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Erick Mathoho, Keagan Dolly and Thulani Serero.

Khune retains his jersey in goals as he will earn his 82nd cap and will also captain the side.

Ramahlwe Mphahele and Tebogo Langerman will occupy fullback positions while Hlatshwayo and Mathoho will be the central defence pairing.

Kamohelo Mokotjo and Dean Furman will operate in the heart of the midfield.

This will be Mokotjo’s first start in a Bafana Bafana jersey since November 13, 2015 when he played against Honduras in San Pedro Sula - while it will be his first appearance November 2015 when he came on for Bongani Zungu against Angola in Durban.

The Holland-based midfielder almost didn’t qualify to play in this match after he obtained a Dutch citizenship, thereby losing his South Africa citizenship. But with help of the Department of Home Affairs, he was able to resume his South African citizenship after he made an application.

Dolly, Themba Zwane and Serero also get the nod in midfield Kermit Erasmus will be the goal poacher.

Zwane last played in the friendly against Cameroon in 2015 ahead of the Africa Cup of Nations tournament in Libreville, while Manyama’s last game in May 2015 against Malawi in a Cosafa Cup clash in Phokeng near Rustenburg.

Erasmus last featured for Bafana Bafana in Uyo, Nigeria in the 2-2 draw against the host nation in the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier.

With only 12 players allowed on the bench, goalkeeper Shuaib Walters and Phakamani Mahlambi will play no part in the match - they will sit in the stands.


Bafana Bafana

Itumeleng Khune (GK - captain), Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Tebogo Langerman, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Erick Mathoho, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Dean Furman, Keagan Dolly, Themba Zwane, Thulani Serero, Kermit Erasmus.

Subs: Darren Keet (GK), Rivaldo Coetzee, Lorenzo Gordino, Diamond Thopola, Hlompo Kekana, Thabo Mnyamane, Andile Jali, Tiyani Mabunda, Lebohang Manyama, Percy Tau, Lars Veldwijk, Luther Singh

Stands: Walters (GK) and Mahlambi



Read more on:    bafana bafana  |  owen da gama  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy


After Stuart Baxter stepped down as Bafana Bafana head coach, who would you like to see take over?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.