Bafana Bafana

Nelson Mandela Challenge set for November 30

2014-11-06 11:28
Mbombela Stadium (File)

Cape Town - Iran, led by former South Africa team coach Carlos Queiroz', are being tipped as the opponents for the annual Nelson Mandela Challenge fixture against Bafana Bafana.

SAFA Head of Communications, Dominic Chimhavi, confirmed to Sport24 on Thursday, that the Nelson Mandela Challenge will take place this year, with the date set as November 30.

Chimhavi also confirmed that, as speculated, the match will be held at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit.

The Mbombela Stadium was due to host the Sudan AFCON 2015 qualifier before agreeing to allow the match to be moved to the Moses Mahbida Stadium in Durban in honour of the late national team captain Senzo Meyiwa.

There are no further international dates after Bafana Bafana's final AFCON qualifier against Nigeria on November 19 which means that SAFA would need the PSL to agree to postponing an already under-pressure fixture list to allow this match to proceed. 

Chimhavi was confident that all footballing bodies in the country would co-operate in order to ensure that this match takes place smoothly especially when considering the reason for the match.

SAFA are still trying to finalise the opponents for the November 30 fixture but Soccer Laduma are speculating that SAFA are attempting to bring former coach Carlos Queiroz back to the country, with his 2014 Soccer World Cup side as opponents for Bafana Bafana, for the annual international friendly in honour of the late president Nelson Mandela.

It seems likely, at this stage, that the Bafana Bafana side for this fixture would be made up of locally based players due to the match being played out of the international window.

Full history of opponents, results and venues:

1994       South Africa       2–1         Zambia (Johannesburg)

1995       South Africa       1–1         Argentina (Johannesburg)

1996       South Africa       2–3         Brazil (Johannesburg)

1997       South Africa       0–2         Netherlands (Johannesburg)

1998       South Africa       2–1         Egypt (Johannesburg)

1999       South Africa       1–0         Sweden (Pretoria)                 

2000       South Africa       0–0         France(Johannesburg)

2001       South Africa       1–0         Egypt (Johannesburg)   

2002       South Africa       1–1 (1–4 p)  Senegal (Johannesburg)      

2003       South Africa       2–1         Costa Rica (Potchefstroom)

2004       South Africa       2–1         Nigeria (Johannesburg) 

2005       South Africa       3–2         Senegal (Port Elizabeth)

2006       South Africa       1–0         Egypt (London, United Kingdom)             

2007       South Africa       0–1         United States (Johannesburg)

2008       South Africa       3–2         Cameroon (Rustenburg)

2009       South Africa       2–1         Norway (Royal Bafokeng Stadium)

2010       South Africa       0–1         United States (Cape Town)

2011       South Africa       1–1         Ivory Coast (Port Elizabeth)

2012       South Africa       0–1         Zambia (Johannesburg)

2013       South Africa       0–2         Nigeria (Durban)

Read more on:    bafana bafana  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.